Huevos Rancheros

Some of my earliest memories is when I would prepare breakfast for my family. Like any child, I would wake up with (or before) the sun and creep out of my room. However, I wouldn’t immediately wake up my parents but would let the noises of  the kitchen wake them. My specialties were strong coffee, soggy cherrios and bananas, and peanut butter and banana wraps. I always had a thing for breakfasts. I thought that I was a master at making breakfasts until I stayed at our family friends for a week and realized that there are two levels of breakfast mastery. 

fullsizeoutput_5c7My breakfast on weekdays have always been fairly simple: toaster waffles, bagels, toast, smoothies, oatmeal. Weekends are when I go all out and make something time consuming but well worth the wait. I was thought to be a master at breakfasts because making a proper meal on weekdays was impossible unless you work from home. However, I was proved wrong while at our family friends because on a typical Tuesday morning, they would gather around the breakfast table to enjoy culinary wonders, such as huevos rancheros. I was baffled by this; how did they have so much time in the morning?

fullsizeoutput_5c8I decided to make my own huevos rancheros to see how long it would take. To my astonishment, I was done in less than 15 minutes and had prepared a breakfast for 2. That even gave my mom and I another 15 minutes to enjoy them together (but we didn’t need 15 minutes because they were gobbled down in an instant). My passion for making breakfast for my family still exists and I can now use it everyday, not just on weekends.   fullsizeoutput_5c9


Huevos Rancheros

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup red onion, diced
  • 1/8 cup lime juice (juice of 1-2 limes)
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • ghee or oil, for the pan
  • 4 corn or flour tortillas
  • 4 eggs

Directions:

In a small bowl, gently toss together the tomatoes, red onion, lime juice, and cilantro. Set aside for about 5 minutes, or while you make the eggs and heat the tortillas. Then, season with a little pinch of salt and pepper.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Once hot, place the tortillas on a single layer and let them cook up for 2-3 minutes, flipping over after 1 minute. Set them aside and wrap with aluminum foil.

Heat a skillet over medium high heat and oil the bottom of the pan with ghee. Crack one egg in the skillet and cook as you would a sunny-side up egg. Once the whites are set and the egg is cooked, 3-5 minutes, place on top of one of the tortillas. Top with the tomato salsa. Repeat this step with the other 3 eggs.

Serve warm with extra lime and salsa.


Bon Appétit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

