Homemade Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

I wouldn’t be surprised if my first solid food was spaghetti or even if my veins are really just a long system of noodles. I have always been a lover of pasta and will eat it at any meal. My love went so far that I began dreaming of marrying an Italian man who would be able to make me pasta whenever I called for it and we would vacation at our Italian summer villa on the foothills of Tuscany. A girl can only dream…

IMG_4895I knew that homemade pasta was delicious because every time I would go visit my Mamie, she would have a shoebox full of pasta in varying color waiting for me. However, pasta was something only grandmothers and Italian men could make, right? I was proven wrong when I came home from school one day to find that my mom had bought herself a pasta machine.

IMG_4897We went through a brief phase of making pasta weekly and I had absolutely no problem with it. However, my mom slowly shied away from the machine and began to revert back to Barilla’s pasta. The machine would only come out for special events or occasions.

IMG_4899When I started to get more active in the kitchen, I wanted to bring out the pasta machine and put it to use. On my weekly calls to my Mamie, I would repeat her recipe to make sure that I was ready. At times, I would get a call the following day from her saying that she couldn’t sleep all night because she feared that I wasn’t able to make the pasta correctly-to say she had confidence in my cooking capabilities would be a stretch.

IMG_4905My pasta always came out properly but then I too put the machine away as I had other things that demanded my time. Once every blue moon, the machine would come out of its cove so that I could get my fix. A few weeks ago, I decided to put the abundance of farm eggs I had to use by making a large batch of pasta.

IMG_4908My Mamie was telling me how she was made pasta with her cousins using 50 eggs. If she could make pasta with 50 eggs at the golden age of 90, I could make a brilliant batch using 10. And so I did. I made spaghetti, bowtie, and orecchiette.

IMG_4912This dish that I am sharing today features the homemade pasta that I made but the sauce is what brings the dish to life. By using fresh tomatoes for the sauce, the entire dish embodies the freshness of the summer and the wonders of home cooking. Why go out and pay big bucks for a meal like this when you can make it at home on a smaller budget? fullsizeoutput_579


Homemade Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

One batch of pasta from this recipe or this recipe for colored pasta

Sauce:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage
  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • Parmesan cheese, to top

Directions:

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add in your pasta and cook until al dente, 5-8 minutes. Drain away the water.

In a small sauce pan, heat up the olive oil. Add in the garlic, thyme and sage. Mix for 1-2 minutes, until flagrant. The garlic should be turning brown but should not be burnt.

Add the diced tomatoes to the garlic and stir. Turn the heat down to medium-low and let them simmer for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. The tomatoes should begin to break down. Season with a pinch of salt and a lot of pepper.

Add in 2-3 servings of cooked pasta. Gently stir around the pasta and sauce until fully combined. Let them cook together for 2-3 minutes on low heat.

Serve the pasta hot with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.


Bon Appétit!

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

