FMF: Spinach and Asparagus Quesadilla

I never understood this fascination that people have with melted cheese in between two starches. Grilled Cheese? Not a fan. Quesadilla? The blander Mexican inspired cousin to grilled cheese. No wonder children love quesadillas. Due to this mentality, it’s been a while since I last ate a quesadilla. 

fullsizeoutput_5f3Last year, I had a brief campfire cooking phase where I wanted to see what I could cook on an open fire. One of the recipes I stumbled upon was a recipe for campfire quesadillas…ew! Versions of this recipe never escaped my search so I decided to add it to my list of things to try. This phase was short lived and eventually, the list was just saved on my computer for future inspiration.

fullsizeoutput_5f2Since I graduated High School, I’ve been trying to clean out anything school related, including my laptop. This campfire cooking list resurfaced and I took a little glimpse of what inspired me a year ago. When I the words “campfire quesadilla”, my eye twitched. Why would I want to eat that? However, a little voice told me to pursue the recipe and try to make it my own.

fullsizeoutput_5f4When I make grilled cheese sandwiches (trust me, it’s a REAL rarity), I add in caramelized onions for flavor. I decided to do something similar with the quesadilla by adding vegetables in it to flavor it. With an extra bunch of asparagus in the fridge that needed some TLC, I decided to make a greens filled quesadilla. Spinach and asparagus could take the quesadilla to flavor town but the red onions would take it up yet another notch. This is one of the few quesadillas that I will eat. Yes, I can be narrow minded but if you want to give me a quesadilla, fill it with some vegetables for a touch of flavor.  fullsizeoutput_5fc


FMF: Asparagus and Spinach Quesadilla

  • Servings: 3
  • Time: 25 minutes
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 5 stalks asparagus, cut into thin strips (use a vegetable peeler)
  • 1/2 cup sliced zucchini
  • 1/2 cup red onion sliced
  • 3 handful spinach
  • 6 corn tortillas
  • ghee or oil, for the pan
  • 1 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Set up a steamer using a pot of water and a steam basket or heatproof strainer. Bring the water to a boil. Then add the asparagus, zucchini, and red onion to the top part of the stainer. Closer a lid and let it steam for 5-8 minutes, until the zucchini is tender and the zucchini is soft. Remove from the heat and stir in the spinach. Cover and let sit for 3 minutes, until the spinach begins to wilt.

Heat a skillet over medium high heat. Coat the bottom with a little oil. Place 3 tortillas on the skillet and let them cook for 2-3 minutes, until they are warm and begin to brown. Flip them over. Evenly place 1/4 cup of cheese on each tortilla. To with 1/3 of the vegetable. Sprinkle another 1/4 cup of cheese on top of the vegetables. Close each quesadilla with one tortilla. Flip each over so that they unheated tortilla is at the bottom. Press them down and let them cook for another 3-5 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the bottom of the tortilla also begins to brown.

Remove from the heat and cut into pieces. Enjoy warm.


Bon Appétit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

