Vegan Chocolate Vanilla Truffles

My mother has long had a weakness for Trader Joe’s; a shopping trip there is destined to end with a cart full of goodies that, I argue, we do not need. In her defense, I do not need to eat it and there are no sweets in her house. It’s true, I do not need to eat the treats she gets there but I have a weakness for sweet so I want to eat what she buys. Her latter argument was also correct however this was one that I could fix.  

fullsizeoutput_5b2It’s true that after a long day of working hard, sometimes all you need is a sugar fix to reenergize your system. I regularly crave sweets, given that I possibly have the biggest sweet tooth. Whenever I actively avoided my intake of unnatural and processed sugars, I was come home to a bag full of mochis, gummies, and chocolates. In effort to combat my yearning for Trader Joes’s sweets, I started to fill up the freezer with chocolate truffles, but the good kind.

fullsizeoutput_5b0Years back, I played around with vegan energy balls that used 7 ingredients. In a matter of weeks, they were out of my freezer and out of sight, out of mind. Since I’m on vacation, I’ve been indulging in these homemade sweet treats as they cure my everlasting yearn for sweets as well as an bit of homesickness.

fullsizeoutput_5b1With no Trader Joe’s in Europe, I’ve been relying on my truffles to cure any hint of sugar craving I get. These chocolate truffles are slightly different from my original recipe that I shared; this newer recipe has fewer ingredients and I am currently enjoying the touch of vanilla in them. They do not need to stay in the freezer but I prefer mine cold. They are also a great treat to travel with.   fullsizeoutput_5b4


Vegan Chocolate Vanilla Truffles

  • Servings: 15
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 10 dates, pitted
  • 100 g almond flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon almond milk

Directions:

Place the dates in a bowl and cover with boiling water. Let sit for 5-8 minutes, until soft. Drain off the water.

Place the dates in a blender with the remainder of the ingredients. Blend on high for 3 minutes. The dates should be completely blended and the dough should be pliable and not sticky. Add more almond milk until this consistency is achieved.

Roll the truffles in even sizes. Place in a bag or container and freeze for 10 minutes so that they become firm.


Bon Appetit

-Stephanie

One thought on “Vegan Chocolate Vanilla Truffles

Leave a Reply

