Daily Trail Mix

I’ve for a long time viewed traveling as an attainable possibility that I’ve been able to achieve little by little however continues to grow as more places are added to me ever-growing bucket list. A few weeks ago, I graduated high school and in the fall I will continue my studies in University. I gave myself two options for this summer: travel as much as I can (within reason) or get a job that will provide me with some savings that I can use for future travels. I decide to travel as much as I could and my itinerary consists of the following: relaxing at the Delaware beaches with my friends for a weekend, embarking on an expedition through Iceland with my family, nannying for my cousin in France and doing day trips to nearby cities, and eating my way through Reunion Island before heading home for a week to pack and prepare for my big move to Canada. In preparation, I have spent the past couple of months cooking up a store on the daily in order to make up for the days that I won’t be able to cook while on vacation. However, I envision that the following trail mix will ALWAYS be in my bag.

IMG_4874My affinity for this trail mix started when I returned from France over Christmas Break. In my uncle’s garden is filled with edible treasures, including his own walnut trees. As a family, we would crack, open, clean, sorting, and store the nuts from his harvest on the kitchen table, each pulling up a chair to join the on-going conversation. I thought that I didn’t like walnuts because the ones in my fridge were spoiled. My resistance only took me so far because I returned from that trip with a gallon sized big full of walnuts.

fullsizeoutput_581My continued to eat walnuts throughout the school days and would add another accompaniment to the preexisting mix on a weekly basis. What started as a walnut and almond duo was soon glorified with raisins, sunflower and chia seeds, and coconut. It soon became second nature for me to make my trail mix; the first thing I would prepare for school would be my trail mix. No with school over, I keep a bag of it handy in my purse so that I can whip out a filling and healthy snack when I’m on the go. With my summer travels commencing, I can assure you that I don’t travel anywhere without my mix.

IMG_4884


Daily Trail Mix

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/8 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds (roasted and lightly salted)
  • 1/8 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix together all the ingredients. Transfer to a bag for each transportation.


Bon Appetit

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

