Farmers Market Friday: Cucumber-Apple Salad with Ginger-Lime Dressing

A day does not go by where I don’t consume a salad of any shape or size. Making salads has become second nature, and thus I don’t put as much effort in coming up with epic Sweetgreen-like combinations. For me, my daily salads looks like either a mountain of shredded carrots, a heap of sliced cucumbers, a column of sliced tomatoes, or a bed of greens, each dressed with a balsamic dressing and topped with micro greens and a mixture of nutritional yeast and hemp seeds. During the summers, my salad intake doubles, at least once every meal. IMG_4964

Knowing that I will be soon consuming more salads than usual since summer is approaching, I decided to mess around with a couple of combinations that will elevate my salad game while nourishing me in no time. This salad is one of the first few that I created and it is on the softer sides of salads: cooling cucumbers, sweet apples, fluffy quinoa. I found that this salad needed a little sour side and I decided to counter its angelic-being with a zingy ginger-lime dressing.

fullsizeoutput_58dSalads are not meant to be boring so it is important to fulfill all the wishes of your palate with the flavors it craves; for me, I adore the sweet and salty combinations in foods and seek the perfect balance of it in every meal. This salad addresses this flavor combination to my liking, and hopefully to yours too.IMG_5021


Cucumber Apple Salad with Ginger-Lime Dressing

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 inch of ginger, minced
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • juice of 1 lime, plus more to season
  • 1/4 teaspoon honey
  • 2 cups sturdy salad, such as Boston salad or romaine, chopped lightly
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 cup Apple, cut into matchsticks
  • 1/2 cup Cucumber, cut into matchsticks
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix together the ginger, olive oil, lime and honey. Season with salt and pepper. Set aside for at least 10 minutes, until the ginger flavor infuses into the dressing.

In a serving bowl, mix together the salad and quinoa until evenly combined.

Add the cucumber and apple matchsticks to the dressing. Toss until all matchsticks are coated. Remove the matchsticks from the bowl and toss with the salad and quinoa. Add more of the dressing to your desired preference. Season with pepper, salt, and lime juice.


Bon Appétit,

Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Farmers Market Friday: Cucumber-Apple Salad with Ginger-Lime Dressing

  1. Thanks! I really enjoy your blog. Don’t know if you remember we met at Westover because I have friends in the band Malarky…maybe have a foodie chat there later this summer. Still in the U.K. at the moment.
    Vxx

Leave a Reply

