Homemade Pizza with Fresh Tomatoes

After a long day of travel, a good nights rest was well over due. Yet our stomachs wouldn’t let us go to bed without tasting the wonders of the Italian cuisine. We walked from our hotel into the bustling streets of Florence in search of a cure for our cravings; pizza, pasta, gelato, we would eat it all. Though this was only the first night of our Italian adventure, we did not want to waste any time and had to jump right into the food scene. fullsizeoutput_5d0

I was a longtime believer that Papa John’s Pizza was the most authentic and tasty pizzeria that existed. However, I was only 8 and beginning to expand my food horizons. As an aficionado of all things pasta and pizza, a trip to Italy was just my dream as it would be pasta- and pizza-galore. I supposedly knew what a great pepperoni pizza tasted like and could not wait to have it whenever I pleased. However, my bubble popped when I ordered my first slice; the pepperoni did not look or taste like what we had back in the US and I stood by the fact that Papa John’s had far superior pepperoni pizza. Following that slice, I stuck to my pasta and cheese pizza.

fullsizeoutput_5cdAnother trip to Italy is long overdue; I want to master the art of pasta and pizza making. This time, I would actually be able to savor and appreciate the tastes of their culinary wonders. This trip though won’t be happening in the next year or so, but I can still continue dreaming.

fullsizeoutput_5ceIn the meanwhile, I decided to bring Italy to Arlington by making homemade pizzas at home. If you follow me on Instagram, you probably have been following my sourdough stories. If you don’t, here is a quick run down: I made my own sourdough starter to make my own bread. Nevertheless, I also use my sourdough for other recipes, such as pizza dough, and have been pleasantly surprised. Making your own pizza is an easy adventure that you can embark on over the weekends. This simple recipe uses fresh tomatoes and is ideal for any evening. Let your inner Italian shine in by adding your own toppings, and get creative.

fullsizeoutput_5cf


Homemade Pizza with Fresh Tomatoes

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients: 

For the dough, use the New York Times Cooking Sourdough Pizza Dough

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1/4 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tomato, sliced into 1/4 inch pieces
  • 3/4 cup fresh mozzarella, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 sun-dried tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 2 tablespoons dried oregano

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 450F. Place your pizza stone in while the oven is preheating on the middle rack.

Roll out your sourdough pizza dough to the shape of your liking until it is about 1/4-1/2 inch thick on a piece of parchment paper.

Drizzle the top with olive oil and brush it into an even layer. Sprinkle over top the parmesan.

Place the onions and tomatoes in an even layer around the pizza. Top with the mozzarella, sun-dried tomatoes, and oregano.

Place in the oven for 5-8 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the dough begins to brown-the dough will have a soft interior. Bake for a 8-10 minutes for a crispier dough.

Remove from the oven and let it cool for 3 minutes. Serve hot.


Bon Appétit!

Stephanie

One thought on “Homemade Pizza with Fresh Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

