Açai Bowl

fullsizeoutput_570My mornings have become nothing less than a continuous pattern: wake up, make a smoothie, eat, check my phone, get ready.  When I had school, my mornings were the following: I had 30 minutes to make breakfast, eat and make lunch,  15 minutes to get ready, and 10 minutes to drive to school. Though I don’t have school anymore, I still dedicate the same amount of time for breakfast and getting ready for the day and I eat just about the same thing. It’s a habit that I can’t seem to escape.

fullsizeoutput_56bSmoothies have been my go to breakfast for such a long time. However, I’ve decided to mess around more with smoothie bowls. Last fall, they were all the rage in Arlington and places would pop up that ere dedicated to making smoothie and Açai bowls. I never caught on to this trend because I didn’t think that it was worth it paying $10 for a meal that I could make myself at a much cheaper price. They started selling Açai packets at my local Trader Joe’s and I immediately launched myself into an adventure of finding the best combination.

fullsizeoutput_56cAfter trying a bunch if recipes and messing around with a few of my own creations, I have unlocked the recipe that never fails me and still gives me wiggle room for my creativity. This recipe is a great base that is smooth, tasty, and versatile as you can add whatever’s toppings you desire. My favorite toppings are granola and fresh fruits. I mainly eat Açai bowls on weekends when I have a bit more time to enjoy them. I believe that an Açai bowl should be an entire meal, not a snack. Thus, make it for breakfast or lunch or dinner, just not as a mid morning or late afternoon snack. fullsizeoutput_56f


Açai Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup frozen berries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tablespoon almond milk, more if desired
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 acai pack
  • toppings: granola, chia seeds, fresh fruit

Directions:

In a high speed blender, mix together the berries, banana, almond milk, almond butter, and acai until completely blended; add more almond milk if you want it to be a drink.

Decorate with the toppings of your choice and enjoy while cold.


Take a look at the video for extra guidance and be sure to subscribe to the channel!

 

Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

