Tip of the Month: May 2017

Better late than never, right? I had the tips for this post prepared long ago however I never got around to posting it correctly. My studies are my top priority and I have been  taking exams for my IB diploma since the first week of May. I’m so happy to be done with them all and to have more time on my hands for IP!

IMG_0871For starters, I recommend that you make banana almond overnight chia pots before going to bed. I wish I followed this tip more closely because some mornings I am pressed on time and have little time to make a breakfast. If you do not know yet, I am VERY picky about my breakfast (I hate to admit it) and smoothies have been one of the few things that I will eat. I also eat chia pots and will probably make more soon in order to mix up my daily routine; keep your palate happy!

Another daily food habit I have is eating a salad for lunch; this way, I know that I am getting my veggies in for the day. My go-to is lettuce, sprouts, nutritional yeast, hemp seeds, and a balsamic vinaigrette. Sometimes I’ll go “fancy” by adding cucumbers, tomatoes and a grain of some sort. Another salad that I like to make is a Waldorf Style Salad. Both of these salads are super filling and nutritious!

img_0865While I do eat salads daily, I have little skills for making dressings. One easy tip however that helps me in making tasty dressings is reusing oils from preserved goods…. think sardines and sun-dried tomatoes! By reusing these preserving oils, you will add flavor and decrease the amount of food that you waste. However, make sure it is good quality oil to enhance flavor.

IMG_9760Although I start my day with fruits and continue with salads, I do like to indulge with dessert. In the summer, I loved to make Frozen Yogurt, especially Melon Mint Fro-Yo. Melons may not be in their peak season yet but you can keep this recipe on your to-do list in preparation for the summer.


Happy May!

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

