Tip of the Month: April 2017

fullsizeoutput_274Waking up in the morning has never been an issue…as long as I have at least 8 hours of sleep. As a child, I was a big consumer of Cherrios and bananas, Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Cookie Crisp; however, over the years my cereal got replaced by bagels and English muffins. Now, I have swapped out the somewhat-empty-carbs, sugars and processed foods for smoothies. This past month, my smoothies have consisted of the following: mango or pineapple, banana, mixed berries, carrot juice or almond milk, chia seeds, flaxseeds and spinach. I feel as though starting my day with some vegetables into my smoothie (like spinach) sets the example for my foodhabits for the rest of the day. Nevertheless, I still appreciate a good pancake, crêpe, or Baghrir for lazy Sunday morning.

IMG_0424Days carry on past Breakfast and dally into Lunch. During the school week,  my lunch consists of a salad, an apple or fruit, celery or carrot sticks, a handful of dried fruits and seeds, and either leftovers or soup. Many of these leftovers consist of Spring vegetables that are beginning to come into season, such as Hakuri Turnips. One of my favorite recipes includes my Spring Pasta with Hakuri Turnips. This can be served both cold or warm. It is also a way for me to combine my love for pasta with my admiration for vegetables.

IMG_5347My conscious effort to eating a diet of vegetables and fruits continues at dinner. There are days that I have to create an individual dinner for myself and salad bowls are my go-to. The Spring Vegetable Bowl has been my inspiration for many of my dinner salads. So long plate of lettuce and hello bowl of goodness.


Happy April!

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

