Breakfast Oat Muffins

fullsizeoutput_4d1Mornings are meant for me time. On weekdays, I spend 30 minutes cooking breakfast and lunch for myself while on weekends, I can easily spend 4 hours whipping up breakfast, lunch, and snacks. I set aside this much time for myself because I know that I won’t have the luxury to do so in the afternoon with school work and all. Today, I want to share with you a great recipe I created last week that made my mornings so amazing!fullsizeoutput_4d2We’ve all heard the “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” spiel at one point or another so I’m not hear to do that. fullsizeoutput_4dbfullsizeoutput_4d9


Breakfast Oatcakes

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free rolled oats
  • 1 cup spelt flour (whole wheat flour works too)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons flax seeds
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • Toppings of your choice: shredded coconut, chia seeds, cinnamon, raisins, etc.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a muffin tin with 12 liners.

In a bowl, combine the oats, flour, baking powder, salt, and flax seeds. Set aside

In a small bowl, mix together the coconut oil and maple syrup. Mix it into the to the dry oat mixture. Add in the beaten egg and stir until the everything is combined.

Evenly distribute the dough into all of the lined tins- you should be able to put in at least 1-2 spoonfuls in each.

Top each muffin with the toppings of your choice. Place in the oven and bake for 20-30 minutes, until they are cooked inside. If you want them to be drier, leave them in the oven for 15-20 minutes. If you want them to be moist, let them cool on a drying rate.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Breakfast Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

