Tex Mex Breakfast Tacos

fullsizeoutput_437

In my kitchen, long weekends are meant for extended breakfasts. From the moment I wake up, I ponder about all the foods I can create: waffles, smoothie bowls, eggs, shakshuska, you name it! I’ll lie in bed for an extra half hour imagining what my plate will look like. But once I make it to the kitchen, it becomes a completely different story.

fullsizeoutput_42c

This recipe came about one morning when I wanted to make an omelette. It eventually fell apart in the pan and I was left with scrambled eggs. I have no place in my heart for scrambled eggs but I do have a large place for tacos. And so with a few tweaks here and there and a couple of ingredients later, I ended up with this toothsome concoction.

fullsizeoutput_432

This delectable dish is the perfect for any lazy morning. For me, this favor blend screams comfort and it’s one of my favorite ones to have in the mornings. You can easily multiply this recipe by 2 or 3 in order to feed a whole crew of hungry people. Or you can make it for your own peaceful morning.

fullsizeoutput_436


“<b>Tex-Mex

  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3/4 cup bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/4 cup corn
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamon
  • dash of cayenne
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 4 tortilla shells
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 1/2 avocado, chopped

Directions

In a small bowl, whisk together the two eggs. Add a pinch of salt and pepper for seasoning.

In a pan, heat the oil. Add in the bell peppers, corn, cumin, cardamon, and cayenne for 3-4 minutes, until they begin to cook down. Season with salt. Add in the eggs. Gently pull them across the pan, until the eggs are completely cooked. Remove from heat.

Heat up the tortillas in whatever manner pleases you (oven for crispy, microwave for soft).

Evenly divide the vegetable scrambled eggs among the tortillas. Top with avocado and tomato. Top with any other toppings of your choice.


Bon Appetit

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

