Baked Falafel

img_3891I have been in an on-going love-hate relationship with chickpeas for a while now. Currently, we are back in the honeymoon phase, where I love to add chickpeas wherever I can. This phase is destined to end soon but will be picked up again in the future. Today I thought I  would share with you the story behind chickpeas and me before things go sour.fullsizeoutput_439

I would say that our relationship started on a rocky note. I was just a stubborn child who ate practically nothing besides pasta, wilted spinach, and boiled broccoli and carrots-anything else was too extravagant for my bland palate. I never dared to touch hummus and had no clue what chickpeas were but I still knew I had to loathe them. This quickly changed in 3rd grade when I got my first cookbooks, William Sonoma’s Fun Food Cookbook; it had almost every imaginable recipe and I wanted to try them all. I was hesitant with the hummus recipe for quite sometime but finally got the nerve the make it. With assistance from my mom, I successfully made my first batch of hummus. This launched me into a period of endearment for chickpeas and I couldn’t seem to stop myself from eating them whole or pureed. I also started to buy Falafel at Trader Joe’s and would devour them for lunch, snack, and dinner daily. Things though quickly took a turn for the worst when one night, I couldn’t help myself and made a batch of hummus on my own.

fullsizeoutput_43b

Our second break was all my fault; I forgot to drain the can of chickpeas and ended up with a soupy hummus that I couldn’t bring myself to eat. The sad liquidy hummus stayed in my fridge until my parents finished it and marked the end of our first loving phase. I stayed away from chickpeas for the longest time but eventually came back around. fullsizeoutput_43c

My relationship with chickpeas has been phasing out for a little while now. Well actually, maybe not phasing out by I have been eating them in a more moderate level. Rather than eating them everyday, I eat them once or twice a week. I recently went out for lunch and was contemplating ordering falafel but then thought I would rather make them myself. Because of this thought, I am sitting here explaining our relationship. These falafels were fairly easy to make and they have me craving more yet I know that if I have them too often, our relationship will fall apart. I challenge you to make this recipe and try to resist eating too many. Trust me, it will be hard but we will overcome this together.

fullsizeoutput_43d


Baked Falafel

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup red onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup parsley, stems and leaves roughly chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp cardamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375F.

In a blender, pulse the onions, parsley, chickpeas and garlic until the ingredients come together in a crumbly mixture. Add in the spices and blend until the chickpeas begin to mash up.

Scoop out a spoonful of the chickpea mixture and mix in into a ball shape using two spoons. Place on a lined baking sheet and repeat with the remaining chickpea mixture. Using the back of one spoon, flatten them out until they are about 1/2 in tall.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, flipping them after 15 minutes. They should be golden brown and have a dry exterior.

Serve in a sandwich, a salad, or on their own. They can be stored in the fridge for 2-3 days, and reheated in the microwave.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

