Miam o Fruit

fullsizeoutput_441A little while back, I talked about introducing a new breakfast dish, Miam o Fruit. If you were waiting for it, here it is! Although I already raved about it, I thought I might as well continue it’s high praise with this short post. So let’s begin! fullsizeoutput_442

If you met my family, you may have noted our obsession with health. It originates from my grandfather, and has spread throughout all of my aunt, uncles, and cousins. The debate as to who has the healthiest lifestyle is never-ending; no one wants the title of being the pickiest healthy eater yet everyone gets “worst” with time. 2 years ago, my aunt came to visit with her recipe book in tow. She had us buy the necessary ingredients for a Miam and informed us that this was the next new “it” food in France. Back then, we couldn’t find any recipe online, but ohh how times have changed- google.fr is now filled with for variations. While we didn’t continue this morning ritual, we did keep the idea in the back of our minds.

fullsizeoutput_443On my last trip to France, my sister and I rejoined on the bandwagon by making this breakfast every morning with my uncle, who provided us with apples and nuts from his own garden. I love starting my day off with this dish because it was helps me get in my necessary servings of fruit for the day. I also crave sweets in the morning, and thus rely on something druity. This recipe fulfills all of my palate’s needs. On days where I want more, I switch up the nuts, the fruits, or flavors (add fresh ginger or lemon zest for a little zing!). So before this ship lands in the US, make sure to be a vanguard and start your week off on the healthier note.fullsizeoutput_444


Miam o Fruit

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1/2 tbsp canola oil
  • 3/4 tsp ground flax seed
  • 1/2-1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 apple, cored and grated or roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup mixed nuts/seeds, to top

Directions:

In a bowl, mix together the banana, canola oil, flax seed, and lemon juice (start with 1/2 tablespoon and add more depending on your taste).

Using a box grater, shred the apple. If you are short on time, you can pulse the apple in the blender until it becomes roughy chopped. Add the apples to the banana mixture and mix until all it completely combined.

Serve immediately and top with mixed nuts and seeds. You may also add more fruit if you have any available.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

