Berry Banana Breakfast Smoothie

fullsizeoutput_26e

When in France, I reconnected with the beloved Miam-o-fruit (recipe soon to come!) after a year or two of abandonment. What’s so great about the Miam is that I was starting off my day right and was getting a few helpful servings of fruits just after waking up. But since my return, I found myself always at a lack of some ingredient, whether it be an apple or a banana. I thus had to go with my back up plan: A Smoothie.

fullsizeoutput_26f

For so long, I’ve equated a smoothie with Summer (why would I start off my day with something cold and frozen during the winter?). Though without a Miam, I still wanted to get in a serving or two of fruits before I started my day and reverted to the typical smoothie. For the past 2 weeks, this has been my breakfast. I’ve messed around with it for a couple of days before finding my go-to daily smoothie routine. I started to realize that while freezing bananas makes it a smoother consistency, it also makes it colder and takes a few extra seconds to blend, and on rushed mornings, we all know how important those few extra seconds can be.

fullsizeoutput_278

This smoothie is comprised of all the staples in our house: bananas, frozen fruit, almond butter, and a variety of seeds. When there is enough, I like to throw in a bunch of spinach or kale. When I want to make it taste even fresher, I sometimes add a few leaves of basil or mint. I’ve always been hesitant to share a smoothie recipe because I feel like it’s too basic of an idea. But when times get dire (like when you are short on time but need a breakfast), sometimes simplicity is all that’s needed.

fullsizeoutput_277

I call this a breakfast smoothie because it’s what I have every morning. But that doesn’t mean it’s only meant for breakfast. This smoothie also works for post-school/post-work snack. Most mornings, half is all I need and I give the other half to my mom. If you don’t have a human vacuum lying around and can’t finish it all, cover and place it in the fridge. Because of the chia seeds, it will become thicker and you can use it for a smoothie bowl later.

fullsizeoutput_274


Banana Berry Breakfast Smoothie

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries, I used blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon chia seed
  • 1 teaspoon hemp/flax mix
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1-2 sprigs of mint, optional
  • 1/4-1/2 cup almond milk or water

Directions:

In a blender, place all ingredients but the water. Mix on high until it becomes a thick, cohesive mixture. Add in the water, starting with a 1/4 cup, and mix. Add more water if you’d like a thinner smoothie.

Serve and be ready to attack the day.

Note: because of the chia seeds, this smoothie with thicken if left aside. Don’t throw it out. Instead, make it a smoothie bowl!

 


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

