Asparagus Rice Salad

img_1091Happy New Years! Long time, no chat, am I right? While on holiday break, I was able to catch up with family I hadn’t seen in a while touring around Brittany. I had expected to be a vacation where I would gather tens of recipes actually turned out to be a time for family time sitting around on the couch. Sounds fun, right?

img_1062I didn’t realize how much I missed blogging until I sat down to write this post. What I love about International Palate is that I can share all of my culinary adventures and I have an excuse to cook whenever and whatever I want. But since I have been back from France, I have been catching up on school work and college application season so cooking up a storm has not been in my agenda.

img_1054This recipe I am sharing today was meant to be shared in the spring. I originally made it this recipe back over the summer but when it was ready to be shared, I felt like it was out of season. I decided to share it for many reasons, one being that in the winter, all I want to eat is starches and carbs like rice. While asparagus may not be the easiest to find these days if it is winter for you as well, then feel free to swap them out with another vegetable.

img_1048This dish is a great dish for dinners and for lunches. What I love about this dish is the mixture of textures: softness of the rice, tenderness of the asparagus, and crunchiness of the almonds. It also combines a variation of colors, with green asparagus popping out in contrast to the white rice (which could be replaced with brown rice or another grain).

img_1070This dish is the perfect way to add the vibrancy of the spring to your wintery meals. I would like to consider this dish as a comfort food. What’s better than bowl of fluffy rice? As I start to get back into the rhythm of day to day life, I hope to be able to create more delicious recipes that I can share. img_1079


Asparagus Rice Salad

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 knob of Ghee
  • 1 bunch of Asparagus, ends trimmed
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 cup White or Brown Rice, rinsed, cooked and drained
  • 1/4 cup toasted almonds, roughly chopped

Tahini Lemon Dressing (from Food52)

  • 1/2cup tahini
  • 2/3 to 3/4cups water (as needed)
  • 3tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1clove garlic, minced
  • 1tablespoon olive oil
  • 3/4teaspoon sea salt (or to taste)
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions:

In a large skillet, melt the ghee over medium heat. Once hot, add in the asparagus and cook for 10 minutes. Using tongs, turn them every so often so they don’t burn. Season with salt and pepper.

When the asparagus is cooked, remove from heat and place on a cutting board. Let cool and then chop into 1 inch pieces.

Place the rice in the skillet over medium low to keep warm and crisp up, 30 seconds. Mix in the asparagus and season with salt and pepper. Once the rice is warm, remove from the heat and top with the almonds.

In a small bowl, mix together all the dressing ingredients. Slowly drizzle the dressing over the rice salad, add as much as you like (I like to keep a light drizzle of dressing). Serve the salad warm.


Bon Appetit,

-Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Asparagus Rice Salad

Leave a Reply

