Cape Malay Curry

img_2797

The post few days, I’ve been suffering from wanderlust. How did I trap this oh-so annoying illness? Well where so I begin. When I scroll through my instagram feed, I see a lot of traveling posts. When I’m with my friends, we are bound to talk about our winter travels. When I’m daydreaming, I find myself counting down the days until I leave for Christmas break (26 days as of today). Naturally, I’m going to catch a case of wanderlust and won’t snap out of it until I board a plane.

img_2798

Rather than moping around until the 16th, I was inspired to share this recipe with you. Together, we will embark on a culinary adventure that will transport us to South Africa. I have never been there (but it’s on my bucket list), so I’m not sure how South African this tastes. So far, people I know have raved that this recipe is like the real deal. I’m taking their word and hoping you all like it.

img_2799

How I came about this recipe is no special story. At school, we studied apartheid in South Africa and at the end of the unit, we had a snack day. It was extra credit if we brought traditional foods or foods with a witty pun. I’m no witty person so I went with the first option of making something from there but I knew everyone was going to make a dessert so I decided to take the savory route.

img_2803

The Cape Malay Curry is inspired by many cuisines of Indonesia and India. Curries were brought to South Africa by the Indians who came with the British; the British traveled a lot between South Africa and India since they were 2 of their colonies. In this curry, you can taste the Indian flavors in the mix of sweet and savory; the sweetness of the apricots  resembles the sweetness of a chutney. This curry will keep you warm and is the new comfort food. It’s also great at curing wanderlust for all those who suffer from it this season.

img_2823


Cape Malay Curry

  • Servings: 5
  • Time: 3 hours
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground turmeric
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 organic chicken breast, no skin, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 1/4 cups less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar

Directions:

In a small bowl, combine turmeric, cumin, coriander, chili powder, cinnamon, and salt, stirring well.

Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add spice mixture; cook 15 seconds, stirring constantly until flagrant. Add onion and sauté 2 minutes. Add ginger, bay leaves, and garlic; sauté 15 seconds. Add chicken; sauté 3 minutes, or until outside begins to cook. Add broth, water, bell pepper, apricots, and red wine vinegar.

Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat, and simmer 1 1/2 hours. Uncover and remove bay leaves. Simmer 30 minutes or until chicken is very tender. Remove from heat and serve warm with rice.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie Ortiz

Recipe inspired by My Recipes

3 thoughts on “Cape Malay Curry

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: March 2017 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

