Cashew Butter

img_2615

Over the past couple of months, I have had little to no time to cook like I used to. When I didn’t have tests to study for or homework to work on, I was swamped with college applications. But I’m happy to report that I am now done with all of my Early Action applications; now I just have my Regular Decision applications to work on but have a while until those are due. Thus, I decided to use my Sunday for all things food related. In the morning, my mom and I set out for the Farmers Market but also ended up going to 3 other stores to stock up on ingredients that we needed for a handful of recipes. When we came home, we unloaded, had lunch, and began cooking.

img_2619

During my cooking breaks, I’ve been writing about all of my cooking adventures. For this week, I decided to start with the basics: Cashew Butter. When I opened the dry food cabinet, I saw a 1/2 cup of cashews looking lonely. I had two options: make something quick or store them for a future recipe. My deep love for cashews ruled out the option of store them for later and my curiosity made me try something new.

img_2626

Cashew Butter is the distant cousin of Almond Butter. Like many nuts, it is high in protein and in healthy fats but it is best to be eaten in moderation. Enjoy it on your toast, on your apples, or in you sandwiches. It can be made in advance and stored in the fridge for 3-4 days. While I used roasted cashews that I bought, it is best to use raw cashews and roast them at home. This way, you have the natural oils and that makes it spreadable.


Cashew Butter

  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. Toss the cashews on a baking sheet and arrange in an even layer. Place in the oven and roast for 15-20 minutes, shaking the sheet every so often to prevent burn marks.

When light brown, 15-20 minutes, remove from oven and set aside to cool.

When cool, place in a food processor with the salt and mix on high. Mix for 3-5 minutes for chunky texture or 5-8 minutes for a smoother texture.

Store in the fridge for 3-4 days.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Cashew Butter

Leave a Reply

