Healthy Waldorf-Style Salad

img_0852

For many years, I have admired the season of Fall for its cooler weather and extra hour. But this season, I’m also dealing with a one in a lifetime experience; college applications. This year happens to be my senior year in High School and while I’m already bombarded with work for my IB diploma, I’m also working on all 9 of my college apps. Hopefully, by the time this blogpost is up, I will have submitted all of my early applications to 3 school. But what keep me going? Food!

img_0858

It’s obvious that food is fuel but knowing what kinds of food your body needs is very important. Since it is Fall, my body has been craving sweets but I know that if I care for my sweet tooth with Twix, Twizzlers, and Gummy Bears, I’ll crash in 4 hours and not be able to get any work done. Thus, I take care of my sweet tooth by using this seasons star, apples. To add more sweetness, I also add dried fruits to my salad; in this case, I added cranberries. Lastly, I know that nuts help reduce a spike in blood sugar so I add a handful or so in my salad to a) reduce a spike in blood sugar, and b) add protein to my meal so I am fuller longer. Getting sick or feeling sluggish is the last thing I need so eating healthy and complete salads (like the Crunchy Salad, Spring Vegetables Bowl, Caesar Salad, or this is) are a great way for me to stay on my A game.

img_0860


Healthy Waldorf-Style Salad

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  •  3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • pinch of salt
  • 3-4 cups kale, ribbed, roughly chopped, and washed
  • 1/4 cup chopped raw walnuts
  • 1 apple, cut into matchsticks
  • 1/4 dried cranberries
  • 1/4 small red onion, roughly chopped
  • black pepper, to serve

Directions:

In a bowl, mix together the lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, and salt. Add the Kale and massage for 5 minutes to begin the breakdown process. Let macerate for 10-15 minutes.

Toss in the walnuts, apple, cranberries, and red onion.

Top with black pepper and serve.


Bon Appétit,

Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Healthy Waldorf-Style Salad

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: May 2017 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

