Hummus

img_1291img_1304If you’ve every looked in my fridge, you may notice that we have a tub or two of Sabra’s Roasted Pine Nut Hummus from Costco. Who is the biggest consumer? My dad. When he comes home late from work, his favorite meal is a quarter of the tub with any kind of bread  or chips that he can find closest to him. Most of the time, I get a tiny share of the Hummus. How do I solve the problem? I make my own hummus!img_1325img_1335Making hummus is fairly simple; it’s an art that is undervalued. I’m not much of a hummus consumer so I don’t make it that often; but when I do, I question why I don’t make it more. Hummus is one of those foods that you can make it your own. You can add more or less lemon zest or switch up the spices depending on the kind of day you having. You can also serve it on a multitude of things: bread, salads, sandwiches. So if you face the same kind of dilemma as I do (having a minimal share of the hummus), make your own and add your own touch!img_1338img_1371


Hummus

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 15.5 oz chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons tahini
  • 3 tablespoons cold water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • zest of 1/4 lemon
  • 3/4 tsp cumin, more to top
  • 1/2 tsp paprika, more to top
  • Dukkah, to top (chopped walnuts and sesame seeds can be used in its place)
  • olive oil, to store

Directions:

In a blender, mix together the chickpeas, salt, garlic, tahini, water, and lemon juice.

Once a smooth paste is created, add in the lemon zest, cumin, and paprika. Blend again until incorporated. Season with salt.

Place in a serving bowl and top with dukkah, paprika, and cumin.

Serve immediately. Otherwise, top with a layer of olive oil, cover, and store in the fridge.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

