Farmers Market Friday: Berry Tart

IMG_1006

For students like me, the end of August has many meanings. It represents the end of summer, the end of endless travels and leisures, the end of late nights and relaxing mornings, the end of carelessness and freedom, and in some ways, the end of independence. August, are you sure you want to end?

IMG_1002

This past summer, I have been busy, but busy in a good way. I have done tons of volunteering throughout my community, diligently worked on my homework throughout the summer, got to cook some amazing meals, spend long afternoons with friends, and learned how to enjoy reading. Many summers in the past felt as if they were wasted, wasted by spending time thinking about what I should be doing. This summer, I took action and didn’t notice until this past week that summer is soon over; I sit here now in Boston writing this blogpost a day before venturing to Cape Cod for a final summer beach vacation.

IMG_1022

Not only does the end of August represent the end of summer for mebut it will also mark the beginning of my senior year in high school. I, thankfully, have finished all my college tours and have come up with a somewhat concrete list of colleges and universities I’m going to apply to, but ask me in 2 weeks and it will be probably completely different. Thus, next summer, it will all be different. In one year, I’ll probably be at school already, either taking classes or just moving in. At times, the thought of becoming a college student scares me, but it’s also really exciting.

IMG_1024

As a farewell to this summer, I would like to celebrate with this tart. This tart consists of many different berries: strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries. These berries, for me, are the quintessential representation of summer. Not only is summer ending but the berry season is also coming rapidly to an end, so it’s best to take advantage of them now (before their prices soar).While I dread that summer is ending, there’s a lot that I’m excited for; soon enough the temperatures will be dropping, school will start again (I miss seeing my friends everyday, I don’t really miss school itself), and certain fruits and vegetables will be making a comeback at the market. Within the next couple of months, I’ll also be submitting my college applications (my first deadline is October 15th, yikes!), working on new projects for the blog, and whipping up brand new recipes. As I embark on a my vacation to Cape Cod for my last summer hurrah, I hope that you also celebrate what you have accomplished this summer and treat yourself to a slice or two (or three or more, no shame!) of this berry tart. Savor every bite, because in the middle of Fall, it won’t mean as much.

IMG_1043


  • Servings: 5
  • Time: 2 hours 30minutes
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1 cup Gluten Free Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 cup Almond Flour
  • 2 tablespoons Cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil, melted
  • 2 tablespoons Maple Syrup

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 lbs Berries (raspberries, blueberries, strawberries)
  • 2 teaspoons Maple Syrup
  • 1 tablespoon lemon
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons mint leaves, chopped

Directions:

In a food processor or blender, milk together the rolled oats, almond flour, cornstarch, and sea salt. Blitz together for 1 minutes, until the oats are roughly a flour like consistency.

In a large bowl, mix together the vanilla extract, coconut oil, and maple syrup. Add in the dry mixture to the liquid mixture and mix until a dough forms. Roll into a ball, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the fridge for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a 8in circular tart pan with parchment paper.

Remove the dough from the plastic wrap and place in the lined pan. Using your finger, pat the dough down evenly in the tart pan; use excess dough to create a small boarder along the side. Place in the oven for 15 minutes, until it begins to dry out.

In mixing bowl, mix together berries, maple syrup, lemon juice and zest, and mint leaves. Once all berries are evenly coated. When dough is pre-baked, place 1 lb of berries on top of the tart. Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the berries become soft and juicy.

Remove the tart from the oven. Using a fork, spoon, meat tenderizer, or the liking, mash the berries down to create a jam like mixture. Place in the oven for another 3-5 minutes, until it begins to bubble.

Remove from oven and let cool in pan for 10-15 minutes. Remove from pan and top with remaining 1/2 lb of berries. Serve alongside ice cream and/or whipped cream.


Bon Appetit,

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

