Campfire Potato Packets

IMG_0888To say that I am a person who loves food would be an understatement. I LIVE for food. Yes, yes, I know it sounds a bit exaggerated but it’s the truth. What do I like to do for fun? Cook. What do I do when I’m bored? Cook. What do I do on vacation? Cook. I think you get the point. There never seems to be a moment where I’m not eating, cooking, or finding new recipes.

IMG_0893Everywhere I travel, I either find great places to eat and learn about the cuisine or bring along a set of cookware to use. When we go camping, we do both; we bring along our three big storage boxes filled to the rim with cookware (plates, table clothes, pots, pans, wooden spoons, burners, you name it!) and a short list of restaurants to check out. We also plan our menu before we leave so we know what ingredients to bring and what to buy there. Camping is not my cup of tea for many reasons but I still make the most out of our weekend trips by cooking up a storm.

IMG_0897The last time I went camping, I made these delicious potato packets, or as some would call them, hobo packs. They require few ingredients, and can be cooked over a fire, a barbecue, or in an oven. They surprisingly also take little time to make (30 minutes for soft, baked potatoes over a fire, you can’t beat that!). So next time you are planning your meal for you campsite or questioning what to throw on the grill, remember Potato Packets are the way to go.

IMG_0913


  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  •  pounds fingerling potatoes
  • 2 ounces dried Spanish chorizo, casings removed, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Rosemary Sprigs
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Prepare grill or campfire for medium-high heat. Lay out 3-4 12″ squares of heavy-duty foil. Divide potatoes and chorizo among squares; drizzle with olive oil and place a sprig of rosemary on each divided potato square. Season with salt and pepper. Fold edges up and over to create packets; pinch edges closed. Cook on grill until potatoes are tender, 25–35 minutes.

 

Serve warm along side salad.


Bon Appetit,

Stephanie

This recipe was adapted from Bon Appetit

One thought on “Campfire Potato Packets

  1. Pingback: Campfire Macaroni and Cheese | International Palate

Leave a Reply

