Individual Chocolate Cake with Dulce de Leche and Fleur de Sel

IMG_0453Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday dear International Palate, Happy Birthday to you!IMG_0435I cannot believe that it has been 2 years since I started my blog, International Palate. Since then, I have had so many opportunities that I would not have had otherwise, like being invited to Taste of Del Ray, having an article in Arlington Magazine, and having Cooking Light post one of my pictures!  Wow!IMG_0438Because of this, I decided to celebrate this momentous occasion with an earth-shattering David Lebovitz recipe (If you do not know David yet, you have a lot to catch up on). Last April, I had the pleasure of meeting David at the University of Virginia for a book signing and conference on French culture. To be honest, I knew little about him before this event besides the fact that he became a famous American blogger/chef who lives in Paris. After meeting him and getting a signed copy of My Paris Kitchen, I have been one of his biggest fans.IMG_0439What I love about David’s cookbooks is that you can’t go wrong with any of his recipes; every recipe uses precise measurements that make every recipe work, no matter what! His book, My Paris Kitchen, also has a wide range of recipes; French, American, Lebanese, dessert, lunch, pantry necessities…he has it all! On International Palate’s 1st birthday, I shared one of David’s pasta recipes and it didn’t dawn on me until now that we are celebrating, yet again, with another Lebovitz recipe but there is no problem with that.IMG_0441I hope you all like this recipe (and Lebovitz’s book) as much as I do! The past two years have been life changing for me as I now have more of an idea of what I want to be when I grow up. If you asked me two years ago what I wanted to be, I would have said that I want to be a chef who has her own cooking show and tons of books. If you ask me now what I want to do, my answer will be simple “Eat my way around the world”. How will I achieve this? I want to become a journalist and write for a travel and/or food magazine. I don’t want to simply share therecipes but I want to share the stories behind the creators. If you’ve seen Chefs Table on Netflix, you have an idea of what I’m talking about. But for now, I will be focusing on my blog. This summer, be prepared to see more travel posts, guest postings, and more recipes with international flair. Have any ideas or want to see something in particular? Let me know by shooting me an email (dandsfoodblog@gmail.com) or commenting below!  IMG_0451


Ingredients:

  • 50 grams (2 oz) lightly salted butter, cubed
  • tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder, plus more for the ramekins
  • 3 tablespoons dulce de leche 
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • tablespoons raw sugar
  • large eggs
  • Ice cream of your liking, to top

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350ºF  convection bake (or 400ºF).

Lightly butter 3 ramekins. Dust each with cocoa powder and tap out any excess. Put a heaping tablespoon of dulce de leche in each cup. Put the custard cups on a baking sheet.

In a bowl set over a pan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and the butter. Stir until smooth. Remove from the heat and stir in the cocoa powder and the brown sugar. Mix in the eggs, one at a time.

Divide the chocolate mixture among the custard cups and bake for 15 minutes, or until the sides are firm but the center is still shiny and quite jiggly (I baked mine for 18 minutes so they became a bit firmer). Let the cakes cool for at least 5 minutes before serving. Serve with ice cream, dulce de leche, etc.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

This recipe was adapted from David Lebovitz’s My Paris Kitchen. The recipe can also be found on Food52

One thought on “Individual Chocolate Cake with Dulce de Leche and Fleur de Sel

  1. Happy 2nd Birthday, What you have done in two years is amazing. I can’t wait to follow you around the world, you have the talent and smarts to be what ever you want and you are off to a Great start.

Leave a Reply

