Spring Vegetable Bowl

IMG_7655I’m one of those people who uses their phones whenever they can. I know, I know, it’s not the best habit but iPhone’s are just addicting! Yes, I may be doing harm to myself by using my phone but I don’t use it like many of my friends, who use it way more than I do. They’re always keeping up with their Snapchat streaks, looking at what’s trending on Twitter, or liking the latest Instagram posts. But for me, I like to look at my email for all the latest recipes in my inbox (or catching up with all of you on wordpress, instagram, twitter, Facebook, etc.).IMG_7653The other day, I decided to look at what my inbox had to offer; A new fish packet recipe or a new flaky pastry recipe? What I tumbled across was Love and Lemons Spiraled Daikon Rice Noodle Bowl. At first, I thought very little of it and was about to move it to the food folder along with all the others that I receive. But then I thought, “Maybe Mom wants to check this one out. It seems right up her alley.” Thus, I clicked the forward button and continued my day. When I came home, she was busy spiralizing, slicing, and preparing the salad with things we had in the fridge. While eating this salad, you don’t notice that it is vegetarian or that it holds tons of vitamins with all the vegetables. LOOK at all the different colors in your plate. Coolest part is, the vegetables you use can be bought at your local farmers market: zucchini (maybe too early for them), radishes, carrots, spinach/salad mix.IMG_5347


Spring Vegetable Bowl

  • Servings: 4 people
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces extra-firm tofu, cut into cubes
  • olive oil
  • 2-3 cups spinach, or mesclun/salad mix
  • 1 medium cucumber
  • 2 medium zucchini, peeled
  • 2 carrots, peeled into ribbons
  • 4 radishes, thinly sliced
  • ¼ cup cilantro
  • ¼ cup mint leaves
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • sriracha
  • lime wedges, for serving
Sauces: Asian Almond Sauce
  • 2 tablespoons tamari
  • 2 small garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 teaspoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • ¼ cup water
  • 3/4 tablespoons almond butter
Directions

Preheat the oven to 400°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread the tofu on the pan. Toss with a drizzle of olive oil and generous pinches of salt. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes or until golden brown around the edges. Remove from the oven and toss with salt and pepper.

In a small bowl, mix together the tamari, garlic, lime juice, rice vinegar, sugar and water. Whisk in the cashew butter and season to taste and set aside.

Use a spiralizer and cut the zucchini, and cucumber into “noodles.”

Create the salad bowl but dividing the spinach/salad into 4 bowls. Divide the noodles into the bowls. Top with the carrot ribbons, radish slices, cilantro, mint, red onion, and tofu.

Serve the bowls with both the Asian Almond sauce and lime wedges on the side.


Bon Appetit,

-Stephanie
This recipe is inspired by Love and Lemons
2 thoughts on “Spring Vegetable Bowl

  1. Pingback: Healthy Waldorf-Style Salad | International Palate

  2. Pingback: Tip of the Month: April 2017 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

