Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

IMG_1216 Hello Friends! Since the end of February, I have been a little M.I.A. in the blogging world. Life has been flying by; I’ve had midterms to review for and a SAT to study for. I thought I had prepared various blogposts but didn’t realize until last Monday that I was running behind on both Sunday Posts AND Farmers Market Friday. Hopefully, with Spring Break coming up at the end of the week (hurrah!), I will be able to plan out more posts for the upcoming weeks.IMG_1194IMG_1196Now that I have excused myself, it’s time to let this recipe speak. I am a BIG breakfast person. After all, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right? If you have read my blog for a while, you probably know by now that I love to eat eggs for breakfast. Previously, I have posted a recipe for Shakshuska and Kale and Baked Eggs, both of which I  also  recommend. Now that mornings are beginning to feel more like spring mornings, I find myself craving more savory things for breakfast than sweets.  Anyone else?IMG_1199IMG_1204This recipe can be a breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner. Yes, they are better when they are fresh, but you can store the sauce in the fridge and top it with an egg and bake it when needed. I usually only make dishes like these on weekends when I have more time to enjoy them. The only thing that can make this dish taste even better is to eat it outside on a sunny day.  IMG_1209.JPG


Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

  • Servings: 3
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 tablespoons, ghee (canola oil also works)
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups crushed tomatoes
  • 1-2 handfuls of mixed greens (spinach, swiss chard, etc.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon herbes de provence
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 3 eggs

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400F.

In a small skillet, heat the ghee over medium low heat. Stir in the yellow onion and garlic and cook for 3-5 minutes, until flagrant and when onions are translucent. Add the tomatoes and mix until warm. Stir in the greens. When wilted, add the thyme and herbes de provence. Season with salt and pepper.

Divide the tomato sauce between three ramekins. Top each ramekin with one egg.

Place in the oven to bake for 10-12 minutes; shorter if you want runny eggs, longer if you want hard eggs. Remove from the oven and let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

Serve warm along side toasted bread.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Baked Eggs with Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: September 2016 | International Palate

  2. Pingback: Tex Mex Breakfast Tacos | International Palate

Leave a Reply

