DF/GF/RSF Blueberry Banana Muffins

IMG_1129

After a week of being cooped up at home, I am ready to go back to school (gasp!). This week-long, impromptu break, due to the winter storm, seemed to be a test…a test of how bored I could possibly become. Well, after having plenty of time to do all my homework and plenty of time of doing everything on my to-do list, I finally ran out of ideas. After the 4th day, I realized that I might as well utilize all this free time by making as much food as I wanted to make for future blogpost. Now, I have all of my Sunday’s Post prepared for this coming month. One of the first things that I made this break, and have been eating all break, were these Banana Blueberry Muffins.

IMG_1131

Last year, I was obsessed with trying to make everything I ate gluten free (gf), dairy free (df), vegan/vegetarian, etc. Yes, I did end up with some great recipes, such as the avocado chocolate mousse, and some not so good ones, like chia seed sweet potato brownies that never made the cut to post. Then, I realized that sometimes gluten and sugar and meat just make things taste better.

IMG_1133

While trying to organize everything I could get my hands on, such as my room, the basement, my old toys, and the kitchen, I found a stash of almost empty GF flours that need to be used. That’s how I started out by making this recipe GF. Once I went GF, I had to experiment going DF. And after I went GF and DF, I had to go refined sugar free (RSF). As the cycle continued, I feared for what would come out of the oven. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised.

IMG_1135

Most GF muffins or cupcakes that I have tried are terrible. Either they don’t rise and are super dense, or the are terribly dry and practically break your teeth. Making things RSF is also a hassle as no one likes things that taste sugar-free (yuck!). For that reason, I have added maple syrup and bananas as my natural sweeteners. Even though they lack a lot of the typical ingredients that your average muffin has, you won’t realize that they lack anything but rather you would be too busy indulging in these muffins. These muffins are perfect. They are fluffy and moist, like a normal muffin. I froze the majority of the muffins and when I need one, I’ll pop one out and microwave it for a couple seconds, until defrosted. When you try this recipe, see how many people you can fool by having them guess what you made them with.

IMG_1144


DF/GF/RSF Blueberry Banana Muffins

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Brown Rice Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature, beaten
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 bananas mashed, about 1 cup
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Line 12 muffin liners to a cupcake pan.

In a small bowl, mix together brown rice flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg.

In a large bowl, mix together the canola oil, maple syrup, eggs and vanilla extract.

Add the flour mixture to the oil mixture. Once fully combined, add the bananas and blueberries.

Using an ice cream scoop, add one scoop of the fully mixed batter into each muffin tin.

Bake the muffins for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted to the center.

Remove the muffins from the tin and let cool.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

