Farmers Market Friday: Pan Roasted Brussels Sprouts

IMG_0760

Brussels Sprouts: the common winter vegetable that people either strongly loathe or so deeply adore. What’s your stance on this never ending conflict? Hate them? So did I, until I learned that it’s all in the way they are cooked. I never was a fan because as I child, I learned that Brussels Sprouts tasted bad because they smell bad. As a puny elementary school student, this logically made sense. As years went by, I carried myself with the notion that I was not a fan of brussels sprouts and never dared to eat one. IMG_0762

My idea of brussels sprouts changed last year when my sister sautéed them and then roasted them. Little did I know that she was making brussels sprouts because there was no cabbagy small. Ever since, we grab a stalk or bag of sprouts to enjoy the same way my sister made them. Yet a few weeks ago, I didn’t find her recipe yet had a few brussels sprouts that needed to be made. Instead of letting them go bad, I took on the challenge to make Brussels Sprouts Á La Stephanie and they were a success!IMG_0769


Farmers Market Friday: Pan-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1/4 onion, finely chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 3/4 tablespoon paprika
  • 1-1/2 lbs brussels sprouts, washed and cut in half
  • salt/pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a large pan, heat the oil. Over medium high heat, add the onion and garlic, cooking until flagrant, 2-3 minutes. Stir in the cumin and paprika.

Add the brussels sprouts to the pan. Let them brown for 5-10 minutes, stirring every so often to let them brown but not burn.

Lower the heat to medium-low and add 1/4 cup water. Cover and let simmer for 10-15 minutes, until (all or most) water is evaporated. Add more or less water depending on how tender or soft you’d like. Once ideal cook is reached, drain remaining water.

Season the brussels sprouts with salt and pepper. Serve warm.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

One thought on “Farmers Market Friday: Pan Roasted Brussels Sprouts

  1. Pingback: Farmers Market Friday: Pan Roasted Brussels Sprouts | Westover Farmers Market

Leave a Reply

