Carrot Banana Walnut Muffins

IMG_0067

 

The first week of November has passed, meaning 2 weeks until Thanksgiving, 4 weeks until December and 7 weeks until 2016. As you are probably aware, that will go by very quickly. I still feel like the school year just started but I’m(finally) 1/4 through my junior year of high school. Ask me what time it is and I’ll say “Summertime!” IMG_0019Being a junior has made me realize how important planning is. I have friends who can eat cherrios on their way to school or eat cereal in their first class period but I’m hungry as soon as I get up. Before, I could spend my morning making a breakfast hash, baked oatmeal, or a poached egg on an avocado toast. Now, I have to spend my weekends or nights making batches of waffles, chia seed puddings or muffins such as these so that I can review/catch up on homework or sleep to make up for the night before.
IMG_0022Breakfast is essential in the morning as it sets the tone for the rest of your day. Start your day with plenty of fuel for the day and you’re ready for success. These muffins are made with carrots, bananas, walnuts, dates, coconut, honey and almond flour, which all carry their share of health benefits. Now, I won’t list them all here (otherwise I might as well write a book) but they’re full of fiber and vitamin C. They’re also made with all natural sugars.
IMG_0026These muffins also freeze great. When I make a batch, I store them in a container in the freezer and take one out in the morning. I then put it in the microwave for 1 minute to defrost and heat up. Mornings will become so much better when you enjoy one of these with a cup of warm tea.IMG_0029So don’t worry about waking up the next morning when you’re prepared with these. And don’t fear that mid morning slump when you’re hungry and tired because you won’t suffer from that. IMG_0043


  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 1 hour
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients for 12 muffins

  • 10 dates, pitted
  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/4 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened and cubed
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 2-3 medium carrots, shredded
  • 3/4 cup walnuts, roughly chopped

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Place the dates in a medium bowl and cover with hot water for 45-60 seconds, until peel begins to fall off. Drain the water and remove the skin. Let cool.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and coconut.

In a mixer, add the eggs and banana. Once combined, add the butter, honey, apple cider vinegar, and carrots. Slowly add the flour mixture to the banana mixture.

By now, the dates should be easy to chop. Roughly chop them and add them to the banana flour mixture along with 1/2 cup of the walnuts.

Line a 12-cup muffin tin with muffin liners or oil it. Evenly divide the batter among the muffin liners. Top with the remaining 1/4 cup walnuts.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean from the center. Remove from the oven and let cool before eating or freezing.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

Inspired by Dr. Andrew Weil

Leave a Reply

