Waffles: Part 2

IMG_9985In the winter, I got a waffle iron and was testing out different waffle recipes every weekend. Once spring/summer time started rolling around, I frayed away from the waffle iron more and more. No, it was not intentional but I was getting used to it and it just became another everyday gadget instead of an occasional toy. I was also getting frustrated because no recipe seemed to work just the way it wanted it to. Too liquidy, too dry, too soft, too squishy, too tough…you get the point.IMG_9999The other week, I was returning from the Farmer’s Market when I passed by my neighbor’s house. What’s so special about this neighbor and what does he have to do with this recipe? Well, he is a great family friend who loves Belgian Waffles. For years, he would buy them to enjoy them at work. Recently, bought his own waffle maker and pearl sugar and began making his own Belgian Waffles. Every weekend, he makes a batch of 16 and stores them in his freezer for the work week ahead. He offered me one and a look in his freezer, which had them all individually packaged.

IMG_9995He is still in the works of creating the perfect recipe but if you ask me, he definitely earns a medal for best homemade Belgian Waffles! When I was little, I called him Papa Boof and his wife “Cookie” because she would always have cookies stored for little visitors like me. Now, I might as well change his name from “Papa Boof” to “Papa Waffles”. Cookie and Papa Waffles seems like a fitting name to me!

IMG_0003Once I saw how Papa Waffles and Cookie stocked their freezer, I thought that this would be perfect for back to school breakfasts. That night, I flipped through my cookbooks to see what I could make for guests that were coming to town and stumbled upon the remaining waffle recipe that I had yet to tried and decided to give it a go. They say that when you aren’t looking, you find what you need and that’s exactly what happened. I found Mimi Thorisson’s recipe for Waffles and had made my agenda for the next morning.

IMG_0014When I woke up the next day, I brushed the dust off of the waffle iron and began whipping up the batter. A little while later, I opened the iron to find the perfectly browned waffles from the recipe presented below. I was shocked at how amazing they were because I had been on the search for a recipe like this and it was just under my nose all along.

IMG_0015I haven’t yet told Papa Waffles that I also have a good recipe for waffles. My mom says that I should give him one to try. Maybe someday I will, but currently I’m a bit nervous to see what he thinks of them. While my recipe is still in the works of being perfected, I think that it’s pretty darn close to perfection. In the coming months, don’t expect many breakfast recipes because this is what I’ll be munching on!IMG_0030


Waffles: Part 2

  • Servings: 16 waffles
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups milk (2%), at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons yeast
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 100g unsalted butter (about 7-8 tablespoons), melted and cooled
  • 1/4 cup Belgian Pearl Sugar (Can be found on Amazon)
  • Toppings of your choice

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix 2 tablespoons milk with the yeast. Let sit for 5 minutes, until small bubbles begin forming.

In a large bowl, sift together the flours. Slowly mix in the yeast mixture, the rest of the milk, the egg yolks, and butter.

In an electric mixer, whisk the egg whites until stiff.

  • 2 minutes on a low setting, 2 minutes on a medium setting and 1-2 minutes on a high speed

Fold the egg white into the flour mixture. I use a whisk to slowly mix everything but some may prefer using a rubber spatula. Cover mixture and let sit for 30min-1 hour at room temperature.

Slowly mix in the pearl sugar.

Cook the waffles according to manufactures instructions. For my waffle iron, 2 minutes on one side, flip and 1.5 minutes on the other side worked.

Serve warm and top however you like.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

Recipe inspired by A Kitchen in France by Mimi Thorisson

For another International Palate Waffles recipes, click here!

3 thoughts on “Waffles: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Carrot Banana Walnut Muffins | International Palate

  2. Pingback: Old Fashion Banana Bread | International Palate

  3. Pingback: Tip of the Month: September 2016 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

