Farmers Market Friday: Grilled Peaches

IMG_9433Peaches. We all love them but there is only so much we can do with them. This summer fruit is loved by many when it’s picked at the right time. Its sweetness makes them perfect to eat alone but after a few, you expect more from it. I do love peaches but my innovative side inspired me to do more with this summer wonder.

IMG_9441I like to subscribe to the weekly emails that some vendors offer about what they will have at the market. This helps me plan my Farmers Market List and was I was stoked to hear about the abundance of peaches, corn and other summer goodies. After buying too many peaches with no plan, I got stuck with many that were about to go bad. That’s when I decided to try a recipe that was new to me…Grilled Peaches.

IMG_9443Prior to this, I’ve been tempted to try grilling peaches but it just seemed wrong to grill a sweet delicacy. Well, I can assure you that it was not at all what I expected. In fact, it was better. By grilling the peaches, I feel that the peaches become unfathomably sweet, making them the perfect thing to top ice cream, add into a fruit salad or fruit skewer and are the best things to toss into a salad.

IMG_9448I don’t want to call it a recipe because it’s so easy to make and only takes a handful of ingredients. Call it whatever you want to call it but next time you fire up that grill of yours, throw some peaches on the grill as well. Then, scoop up yourself some vanilla ice cream to top with the peaches for a dessert that you won’t forget.IMG_9447


Grilled Peaches

Ingredients:

  • 4 Peaches
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil

Directions:

Slice the peaches in half both vertically and horizontally. Remove the pit, you should be left with 4 quartered peaches, 16 pieces.

Heat the coconut oil over high heat in a grill pan.

Place each piece of peach cut side down on the pan. Let it sit for 3-5 minutes. Flip over to the pieces to the other cut side and let sit for another 2-3 minutes.

Remove from heat. They can be served warm or cold, but are better warm.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

One thought on “Farmers Market Friday: Grilled Peaches

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: July 2016 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

