Avocado-Kiwi Popsicle

IMG_9273The summer’s heat has gotten the best of all of us. As it gets hotter during the day, we spend most of our time cooped up in an air conditioned room. Sounds nice to be in the cold but you seem to lose a touch with nature. What’s the point of sleeping at night, when it’s also the coolest time of day, and staying awake all day long, when it’s too hot to do anything? With the crazy heat, I like to wake up early in the morning, take a nap in the afternoon and stay up late at night. What might separate me from you is that I am still a student so I get the 10 weeks of summer break, allowing me to do anything I want.

IMG_9276But even in the afternoon, after my nap, I need a kickstart to get my energy flowing for the rest of the day. That’s where this recipe comes into play. I found this recipe in the Green Kitchen Travels cookbook back in May. I made a whole batch of popsicles and with the excess batter (I’m not sure if that’s what you call it or not), I placed them into ice cube molds. The first time I made this recipe, I began to rethink my smoothie recipe. Since the batter (we’ll just call it that) has a similar consistency to a smoothie, why can’t you make all smoothies into ice cubes or popsicles? Well, that idea I have yet to test but in the meantime, this is what has me last through the long summer days.

IMG_9284I still am calling this recipe a popsicle recipe because I find it easier to put it in an ice cube mold and add a toothpick in it. For me, one ice cube is just the perfect size but some days, I do rely on two…maybe even three. By placing them into ice cube molds, they are easier to share and divide into a long period of time. Yet in these pictures, I used a popsicle mold because our ice cube trays were in use at the moment.

IMG_9290You are probably still not convinced that this recipe is as good as I am describing it to be. That’s probably because the title of this recipe begins with avocado and it’s a dessert. Well, if you have been a regular follower for about a year now, you might know that I’m not afraid to add avocados to a dessert, just take a look at my avocado chocolate mousse. The point of adding avocado into this recipe is to make it smooth and creamy . The flavor of the avocado doesn’t come out because the flavor of the banana and kiwi is so much stronger that you totally forget about the avocado. So next time you are sitting on your porch with a friend and complaining about the heat, just take out one of these from your freezer and be prepared to be delighted! IMG_9294


Avocado-Kiwi Popsicles

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 1 avocado, peeled and stone removed
  • 6 kiwis, peeled
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 cup water
  • popsicle sticks, cut in half width-wise

Directions:

Slice up 2 kiwis and set aside.

In a blender, add the banana, avocado, 4 kiwis, honey and water. Puree until smooth.

Evenly distribute the batter between 2-3 trays of ice cubes or into popsicle molds.

  • If using an ice cube tray: Top with the sliced kiwis. Place half of a popsicle stick into each cube.
  • If using popsicle molds: Slide in a kiwi into the side of the mold.

Freeze for about 8 hours, until firm. Keep them in the freezer until ready to serve.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

One thought on “Avocado-Kiwi Popsicle

  1. Pingback: Banana Pops | International Palate

Leave a Reply

