Farmers Market Friday: Honey Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

IMG_8464

Summer is a time when tomatoes come popping out of every possible place. However, I have no problem with that because cherry tomatoes are very cute and tasty. When they are picked at the right time, they are very juicy and are hard to resist. When I ran into my neighbors at the market a few weeks ago, they had a little turquoise basket full of cherry tomatoes that were so vibrant that I wanted to pick a few right out of their basket. I’m sure they wouldn’t have mind but I knew that it was a sign for me to buy one of those too.

IMG_8467A week prior to actually buying my own tomatoes, I researched ways to use them. Yes, I know it sounds silly but I didn’t want to just make another gazpacho or tomato sauce or even another salad tossed with tomatoes. I stubbled upon a few and it all came down to two: Oven dried tomatoes or Honey Roasted Tomatoes. I decided to share the Honey tomatoes because the oven dried tomatoes seemed to cook for a while and with the heat that the East Coast has endured lately, I didn’t want to have the oven on for very long.IMG_8468In the end, I’m happy that I decided to follow through with this recipe because they are perfect to eat on their own. You can also serve them on top of a salad or make them into a bruschetta. I am going to warn you that they are highly addictive so you may want to buy multiple baskets so that you are sure to have plenty of honey cherry tomatoes for a few hours…. days if you can even refrain from them for that long. 
IMG_8473

 


Honey Roasted Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound/500g cherry tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon clear honey
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Flaky sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C. Lightly oil a roasting pan. Halve the tomatoes and place them, cut side up, in the dish. They should fit snugly with little or no space between them.

Crush the garlic with a pinch of salt, then beat it with the honey, olive oil, and a good grinding of pepper. Spoon this sticky, garlicky mixture over the cherry tomatoes. Roast for about 30 minutes, until golden, juicy, and bubbling.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

Recipe adapted from: Epicurious.com

Leave a Reply

