GF Oatmeal Raisin Granola Bars

IMG_7453As a child, I would envy all of my lunch mates who would pull out a Quaker Oat’s granola bar. Every trip to Costco would involve me begging my mom to get the same granola bars as everyone else. Sadly, she always had the same response, “NO!” It may have not been as affirmative yet in my childish mind, that “NO” practically meant my life was over. Why wouldn’t she get me the same granola bars? Did she just want to be a cruel French mom? Well, as I was still holding on a grudge, she explained that she worried about Salmonella in Peanut Butter and added sugar. So basically, she was looking out for me, being a protective mom, not a cruel mom.

IMG_7454Many years later, I’m slowly letting go of this little miscommunication that happened years ago. As they say, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.” And with that, I’ve come out of this childhood drama with my head held high…and with an amazing recipe for granola bars that will replace the Quaker Oat’s bars hiding in your cabinet. IMG_7465When I found this recipe, I wasn’t intending to make granola bars. Nor was I on the search for another pantry staple. Yet, I was in search for a recipe that would fix my sweet tooth in a quick and easy way. The original recipe is from Deliciously Ella‘s cookbook, Deliciously Ella, and doesn’t have any raisins. In fact, it was intended to be the plain oat bars.To make up for all of those oatmeal raisin granola bars that I didn’t have as a child, I decided to add a handful of raisins and a pinch of cinnamon. With my little knowledge about most granola bars that you buy at the store, I can assure you that these are much better and very much addictive (don’t say I didn’t warn you).

IMG_7466So on this Father’s Day, treat your dad to a simple but healthy plate of cereal bars…because it wasn’t him who deprived you of your childhood dream snack. Any fatherly figure is sure to be impressed by your skills and a treat that is made with plenty of love.IMG_7470


GF Oatmeal Raisin Granola Bars

Ingredients:

  • 4 1/2 cups gluten free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 6 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 6 tablespoons almond butter
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400F.

In a bowl, place the oats and raisins.

Over medium heat, place the bananas, maple syrup, almond butter, coconut oil and cinnamon in a small saucepan. Mix thoroughly and allow it to simmer until it become a liquidy paste.

Pour the maple syrup mixture over the oats and raisins. Stir until evenly distributed and everything is evenly coated.

Grease a baking sheet and place parchment paper at the bottom. Transfer the batter to the baking sheet and spread it evenly.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until top begins to brown. Remove from oven and let cool on the sheet for 5 minutes before transferring it  to a  rack. Allow the bars to cool completely before slicing them. Store them in an airtight container until consumption.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

