Farmers Market Friday: Strawberry-Mint Sorbet

IMG_8118Farmer’s Market in the spring/summer are the best. That’s when all the fruits and vegetables are the freshest, most vibrant and, most importantly, most flavorful. I am always drawn towards the strawberries, apples, and tomatoes. When I think of Farmer’s-Market-Finds created into dishes, I tend to think about desserts but mainly pies; Blueberry Pie, Strawberry-Rhubarb Pie, Apple Pie, Tomato Pie…you name it. But when it’s hot, I don’t want to turn on the oven because I fear that the house would get too hot. With this recipe, you don’t need to fear about that anymore.

IMG_8122As a child, there were summer days I would spend on my swing, enjoying the scooby-doo push-pop while waiting for my tongue to get the tattoo from the pop. Other times, I would be waiting outside at my pool for the ice cream truck to come by so that I could get my popsicle, usually the spongebob face with gumball eye balls. When I wouldn’t get a popsicle, I would walk down with my mom to the local ice cream shop and get the pink bubblegum ice cream with tons of actual bubble gum inside.

IMG_8128I find that most ice creams like those would mostly taste too artificial but for some reason, that’s why children love it. My dad still loves ice cream (which is why we always have ice cream in our freezer) but a couple years ago, my mom and I found that it is just as satisfying making it as it is eating it. That’s why we make ice cream during the summer, but not sorbet because that uses a lot of sugar, right? Yes! But when you have a pound of fresh strawberries, why not? You deserve a treat!

IMG_8153With all the rain we  have been getting this week (at least in my area), there is most likely going to be a shortage of strawberries and the ones that are there may cost a lot. If this is the case, keep this recipe for the next time you find strawberries at your market. It’s sure to bring you back to your childhood days.

IMG_8163


Strawberry-Mint Sorbet

Ingredients:

  • 1 organic lemon, sliced (with peel) and seeded
  • juice from 1 lemon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 pound strawberries, fresh or frozen
  • 1 handful fresh mint

Directions:

In a high speed blender or food processor, puree the lemon, lemon juice and sugar. Once all pureed, place in a bowl and set aside.

In the blender or food processor, place all your strawberries. Once pureed, add the lemon mixture and mix until well combined. Place the mint in the blender and mix until chopped and combined.

I used an ice cream maker to get the finished product but you can also place the mix in a container in the freezer and from time to time churn it to avoid ice crystals.

  • Click here for 6 different ways to make ice cream without an ice cream machine.

Serve with vanilla ice cream,coconut whipped cream or eat it just as is.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Farmers Market Friday: Strawberry-Mint Sorbet

  1. Pingback: Farmers Market Friday Recipe: Strawberry Mint Sorbet | Westover Farmers Market

  2. Pingback: Tip of the Month: June 2016 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

