Kale and Baked Eggs

IMG_7816

As some writers may know, there are somedays that you are more inspired to write than other. And it’s certainly difficult to get yourself to sit down at a table and write when you need to but don’t want to. Trust me, I love this blog but days like today, I’m lacking a bit of inspiration…so just bare with me because by the end of the post, you will have learned something 😉

IMG_7806

I do a lot of babysitting for people in my neighborhood. And every time I go visit a family again, their child is attached to a new toy. One family I know would give their child a toy to play with. Their daughter would be obsessed with that toy for weeks. Once she lost that connection, they would hide it from her and give it back to her a few months later. Little did their daughter know that it was the same toy. Thus, she would fall in love with the toy all over again. Well, that’s me when it comes to cookbooks.

IMG_7807

For Christmas, I got the Green Kitchen Travels cookbook and was attached to it for weeks. Once I had recreated half of the recipes in the cookbook, I was still in awe of the recipes and flavors but had less of an attraction because I got so use to it. I unintentionally stored it away for 3 months and as time went by, I started falling in love with it all over again. So for the past week, I’ve flip through the book over 100 times to see what recipes I haven’t tried yet and can recreate with what I have.

IMG_7810

The Green Kitchen Travels Cookbook contains many recipes based off of the writers travels around the world. They create their recipes using wholesome ingredients to make astonishing vegetarian recipes. And one Saturday morning, I needed a breakfast that would fuel me for a day full of adventure and their Mushroom and Spinach Baked Eggs en Cocotte was just what I needed.

IMG_7812

For my recipe, I had to make a few minor changes because I didn’t have all the ingredients, such as mushrooms and pine nuts. You may add them if you have them but I thought my breakfast was just as divine.

IMG_7815


Kale and Baked Eggs

Ingredients:

  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 1 small bunch of kale, coarsely chopped, can be replaced by spinach
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 3 tablespoons creamy goat cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • oil/ghee, to grease

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a small skillet, heat a tablespoon of oil or ghee. Add the garlic clove and cook until golden.

Add the kale and let it wilt down, 3-5 minutes. Add the cumin and mix in.

Oil three ramekins with oil or ghee. Evenly distribute the kale between the three ramekins. Place 1 tablespoon of goat cheese in each ramekin. Placed a cracked egg on top of each goat cheese ramekin.

Place in the oven and bake for 10 minutes, until egg white is just set.

Serve warm.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

One thought on “Kale and Baked Eggs

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: October 2016 | International Palate

Leave a Reply

