Goat Hill Farm: Lambs Quarter

IMG_7693
The past couple weeks have gone by so quickly but I also have been very busy. As the school year comes to an end, I spend most of my time studying for finals and doing homework among other things I do outside of school. Despite all this, I’ve found that keeping up with this blog has always been a priority. Soon, it will be one year since I started International Palate and to think that I’ve actually been able to keep up with it is kind of shocking to me, but in a good way.

IMG_7698
Within the past year, I’ve been able to meet many new people and had more opportunities than I initially expected. My most favorite might have been creating “Farmers Market Friday ” for my local Farmers Market because it’s had me trying new recipes based on ingredients that are seasonal and fresh. As the weather warmed up, I’ve been able to experiment with more ingredients too.

IMG_7747
But I don’t only get my veggies at the Farmers Market. I also get my veggies at a CSA. With the Goat Hill Farm CSA, I get a box of veggies that seems to be getting bigger and bigger as the season goes on. And this week I had quite a surprise when I got home. Not only where there gorgeous peonies and plenty of veggies, including Tat Soi, Lettuce, Spring Onions, Kale (and much, much more), I also got a jumbo crate of Lambs Quarter to play around with. Now that’s what I call a surprise!

IMG_7697My next challenge though was to find a way to use all the Lambs Quarter….and to find out what it was because THIS was new to me. My first instinct was a pesto, which might just be my favorite thing to make of all times. My mom’s idea was to use it in a soup. So we tried both and here is what we came up.IMG_7714


Lambs Quarter Soup

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons oil

1 shallot, sliced

2 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups chicken (or vegetable) broth

1 large russet potato, peeled

4 cup Lamb Quarter leaves

1/2 cup walnuts

salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a heavy bottom medium pot, heat up the oil. Add the shallots and garlic until softened.
Add broth and potato. Let simmer until the potato is almost cooked, 10-15 minutes.
Add lambs quarter and cook until softened, 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and let cool slightly for 5 minutes.

Place in a high speed blender and liquify it until smooth. Add the walnuts and blend until smooth.

Place back in the pot and let simmer for 5 minutes.

Serve warm. You may add a dollop of yogurt or crème fraîche to serve.


 

Lambs Quarter Pesto 

Ingredients:

1 cup steamed Lambs Quarter, removed from stem and cooled

1/2 cup walnuts

1/3 cup olive oil

1/4-1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 garlic clove, peeled

Directions:

In a high speed food processor, pulse the lambs quarter until chopped.

Add the walnuts and olive oil until finely mixed.

Add the cheese and garlic until mixture is smooth.

Add salt and pepper to taste. 

Serve however desired. I enjoy mine on a warm baguette with a thin layer of ricotta cheese and topped with tomatoes.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

