Chia Seed Pudding

IMG_7647Last summer, I started eating overnight oats and found so delicious that I wanted the recipe with all of you. Oats are healthy but like anything else, you don’t want to eat them day in, day out. So, I looked for an other healthy alternative and found the chia seed pudding.

IMG_7635 But I’ve also seen plenty of chia seed puddings. At first, it seemed odd to me to only eat chia seeds. I’ve always considered chia seeds as dry seeds that get jello-y when wet. So why would anyone want to eat solely a bowl of chia seeds and yogurt?

IMG_7638One day, I gave in and decided to make chia seed pudding for the next morning. And I haven’t looked back since. But what made me decide to post it was how others people thought of it. One of my friends stayed over a few nights ago, so it was only natural that I’d prepared this for her. And I don’t think I had ever seen anyone that excited over a breakfast pudding.

IMG_7640This breakfast is one of the fastest things you can make, preparation wise. Just make it the night before, let it sit in the fridge and the next morning, top it with whatever you like. I’m always a fan of adding strawberries and almonds but I also like to add granola every so often. Add bananas, grapes, pineapple, nuts…ANYTHING.

IMG_7645So next time you are feeling lazy and know that you are going to have no time in the morning to make yourself breakfast or you just want to have a special breakfast but want to put in little effort, just make this. You can even make this to surprise your guests and friends. Remember, no matter how simple a dish may be, it still can be delicious.

IMG_7646


Chia Seed Puddings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 3/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Toppings

  • fresh fruits
    • strawberries, blueberries
  • maple syrup
  • toasted almonds

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix together yogurt and almond milk with a fork until it is well combined.

Add in the chia seeds, maple syrup, and vanilla extract to the yogurt mixture. Mix until it is well combined, mixture may get thick but this is because of the chia seeds.

Cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least 8 hours, or overnight.

Before serving, place into individual size glass or bowls. Top with the toppings of your choice. I enjoy topping it with strawberry slices, almonds and maple syrup.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

3 thoughts on “Chia Seed Pudding

  1. Pingback: Carrot Banana Walnut Muffins | International Palate

  2. Pingback: Tip of the Month: May 2016 | International Palate

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Chia Seed Pudding | International Palate

Leave a Reply

