Yuca Fries 

IMG_7492

Cinco de Mayo is on Tuesday! How are you going to celebrate? Well, how ever you are celebrating, do you know what you’re celebrating? Cinco de Mayo is a Mexican holiday that celebrates their victory over France in 1862. Even as a holiday that is celebrated across the US, my dad still doesn’t give in when it comes to celebrating because he claims we shouldn’t be celebrating since France lost and my mom (his wife) is french. But in my eyes, a holiday is an excuse to celebrate so I choose to celebrate with this recipe of yuca fries.

IMG_7495

When I was in Costa Rica, I enjoyed plenty of yuca fries and even learned how to make them. But if you didn’t get the hint from the name, they are normally deep fried and this isn’t the best for your health. So I, in a very small way, made this dish healthier.

IMG_7500

I have learned from past experiences that when you try to make food healthy, it usually doesn’t taste the same and sometimes, it may turn into a big disaster. In my house, my dad is the one who can be hard to impress: he can tell if you make a dish differently to make it taste healthier and 99.9% of the time, he will say that it tastes strange. But this time, I was able to trick him. My dad thought that they were leftovers that I had at a restaurant, little did he know I had just made them before he came home.

IMG_7506

This recipe is very easy and can be personalized for anyone’s liking. You can add spices, herbs or any kind of seasoning that you desire. I split the batch of yuca fries into two so that I could make two different flavors. I topped half of them with cayenne pepper and the other half with oregano. But feel free to mix and match!

IMG_7509


Yuca Fries

Ingredients:

  • about 1/4-1/2 cup avocado oil
  • 4 yucas, peeled, washed and quartered into 2-3inch long match sticks
  • seasonings of your choice
    • cayenne, oregano, etc.

Directions:

In a large pot of boiling water, boil the yuca until they become more translucent, 20 minutes but may depend due to thickness and size of slices.

In a skillet, heat the avocado oil. You will want enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan and rise above by 1/4inch.

Arrange the yuca fries in a single layer. Let them fry for 3-5 minutes over medium-high heat, until the bottom becomes brown. Turn them over and let them cook for another 2-3 minutes, until they are lightly brown all around.

Remove from heat and let sit on a paper towel lined plate. Repeat the 2nd and 3rd step with extra yuca that wasn’t cooked.

Toss the yucas on the lined plate with the seasoning of your choice. Serve warm along side any dip of your liking.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

One thought on “Yuca Fries 

  1. Pingback: Travel Thursday: Costa Rica | International Palate

Leave a Reply

