Savory Rosemary and Walnut Granola

IMG_6118Within the next couple of weeks, people retreat for Spring Break. Some people will travel using a plane or a car…unless they stay home. For me, any kind of vacation gives me a scapegoat to make a whole bunch of snacks so that I won’t go starving while getting to my destination. My go-to snack is usually a granola, trail mix, chips, crackers, nuts or anything that doesn’t make a big mess.

IMG_6122Trust me, I don’t only stock up on snacks when I travel. I like to always have a snack on hand for a boost of energy. Usually, my mom makes sure that there is always a jar of granola in the cabinet. But lately, the jar has been missing. I decided to take initiative and refill it with a batch of granola myself. My mom goes the traditional way on making granola and has stuck to her recipe, which is delish, for years. When I have the opportunity to make granola, I like to try different flavors (like the banana granola) and add different things (like my trail mix with cherrios) to the mix. So when I saw that Food52 had a recipe for SAVORY granola, I was instantly mesmerized.

IMG_6123By adding herbs and nuts instead of dried fruit and olive oil instead of honey, granola becomes a savory handful of deliciousness that you can eat alongside cocktail nuts. Sweet Granola is usually used to top desserts, yogurt or ice cream. This granola can be added on top of salads or casseroles. The rosemary flavor reminds me of crostinis but you can add any other herb that you choose.

IMG_6154Gift this to friends and they will be nicely surprised by what you concocted. Serve as an appetizers and your guests will be mind-blown. Eat by the handful and your tummy will thank you.  Toss it with a salad and you will savor every last bite. Like it? More like LOVE it!

IMG_6178


Savory Rosemary and Walnut Granola

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Gluten-Free Rolled Oats
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 tblsps fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 2-3 tblsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a large mixing bowl, mix all your ingredients together. Everything should be coated with olive oil. Add more oil, if necessary but not too much oil, you don’t want it to sit in the bowl.

Prepare a baking sheet by lining it with parchment paper. Evenly spread out your granola in a thin layer. Place in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden. While baking, mix granola with a spatula after 10-15 minutes to make sure that all oats cook evenly

Remove from the oven and let cool. Serve along side a salad or enjoy it alone.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

