GF/V Chocolate Banana Cake

IMG_5712Do you ever see a perfect stand at the store filled with perfect fruits or vegetables? Then you buy copious amounts even though you don’t need all of it? Well, that’s where this recipe all started. I had one bunch of bananas that needed a few more days to ripen. So when I went to the grocery store and found a stand of ripe bananas, I went bananas (Sorry but I couldn’t help myself)! I picked up a bunch and brought them home. Soon, I found myself stuck with 2 bunches of ripe bananas and few recipes.

IMG_5718Banana bread was definitely a must on my list but remember, I’m currently gluten-free because of lent and I didn’t want to ruin a perfectly good recipe by making it gluten-free. So, I scouted for a new banana recipe and tumbled across one from Green Kitchen Stories. After adapting the recipe to my liking, I soon found myself with a warm, chocolatey banana cake.

IMG_5721This dessert is perfect all by itself. I ended up topping mine with some powdered sugar but you may want to add a dollop of coconut (or whipped) cream and throw some strawberries on top. Or, maybe you’ll want to serve it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. This recipe is easy to make and doesn’t require much clean up. You can also put it in any decorative mold you like to add a little finesse that is sure to please your guests. Go bananas!

IMG_5729

 


GF/V Banana Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flax seeds: 5 tbsp water)
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar, or maple syrup
  • 2 cups almond meal
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. If you can, use convect bake.

In large bowl, combine your ground flax seeds and water. Let it sit for at least 5 minutes so that it can thicken.

Add the mashed bananas and agave to the flax eggs. Mix until well combined.

In a small bowl, mix the rest: almond meal, cocoa powder and baking powder. In small quantities, slowly add the mixture to the flax egg mixture. Once well combined, fold in the chocolate chips.

Oil your mold. Place the batter into the mold and smooth out the top. Place in the oven for 35-40 minutes if you use convect bake. If you are not using convect bake, bake for 45-50 minutes.

To serve, top with fresh berries, whipped or coconut cream, ice cream and whatever else pleases you.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

 

One thought on “GF/V Chocolate Banana Cake

Leave a Reply

