Guacamole

IMG_5201

Recently, it has been concluded that avocados and oatmeal are food that have a positive impact on your health. I’ve already shared my favorite oatmeal recipe, the baked oatmeal, so it’s fitting that I share my guacamole recipe. Trust me, you will never want to buy store bought guacamole again.

IMG_5193

Buying guacamole from a tub sounds like a good idea because you don’t need to worry about making it. Chips and guacamole are an easy snack that’s loved by millions even if they don’t like avocados. For the longest time, I wasn’t a fanatic of guacamole because I thought it lacked flavor. The taste was a spicy and lemony squishy puree topped on salty chips. It baffled me how people would bring it to school in their little prepackaged containers and how they would drool over something so simple and bland.
IMG_5195

Now don’t get mad at me for calling it bland,but trust me, you will change your mind about buying guacamole in those little tubs very soon. For a project in spanish, I had offered to make guacamole for my class. I added mango and pomegranate seeds. These fruits added a pungent twist and made me appreciate avocados for more than just for their healthy fats.

IMG_5198

By adding some cumin, this guacamole takes on a another flavor that will linger in your mouth. Never underestimate the power of a pinch of spice.
IMG_5206


Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 of an onion, preferable red but yellow also works, finely chopped
  • 1/2 of a lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, more if you like spice
  • 1/2 tblsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, quartered, seeded if you prefer.

Directions:

In a medium sized bowl, mash the avocados until there a unnoticeable lumps.

Add the onion and lemon juice. Mix until it’s evenly dispersed.

Add the cayenne, cumin and garlic powder and mix until well incorporated.

Add the tomatoes but mix minimally if you decide to keep the seeds.

Serve with some corn tortilla chips. To conserve, keep in the fridge but use with in a day.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

