Gingerbread Cookies

IMG_4848

What’s a holiday season without a batch of Gingerbread Cookies? Everyone loves them, including Santa. On Christmas Eve, children set out a plate of cookies and milk for Santa to snack on while he delivers gifts. But Santa probably eats lots of cookies so make him exceptional ones that he will love 😉

IMG_4798

Making gingerbread cookies can be a difficult mission. They can easily turn out to be too sweet, too gingery and anything else in between. Once you find the perfect recipe, you should keep it and do them over and over again. For me, the perfect gingerbread man is thin and crispy. It’s fragrant and not too sweet but instead has a hint of ginger, enough to taste without being overpowering.

IMG_4814

Luckily, I can solve that issue for you. Ever since I was a young baker, I’ve made gingerbread cookies. It’s been so long that I can’t even remember a year that I didn’t make them. When I was little, I would walk over to my neighbor’s house and we would take the weekend to make them. I remember I would go on a saturday afternoon to make the dough and prepare it for refrigeration. After lunch, we would start molding them. Sometimes, we would leave them in the fridge overnight and I would come back the next day to cut out the cookies. We would make many batches so that I could take some home and she could gift some to her family.

IMG_4820

Sadly, my neighbor died a couple of years ago after battling cancer. Ever since, I take upon the task to bake the gingerbread cookies just like she would. With her looking upon me, I bake these fragrant delicacies to share with the neighborhood. Since the holiday season is about sharing and giving, I thought I would gift you with these.

IMG_4829

This show stopper will create a party in your mouth…and who doesn’t like that?!?! Make them for that office party, that family reunion, that cookie exchange. Make them as a last minute gift or as a gift to yourself.

IMG_4826

Wishing you all a very happy HOLIDAY SEASON. May you be gifted with love, health and happiness.

IMG_4844


Gingerbread Cookies

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Time: 2hr 20mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup shortening (crisco)
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar or light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 3/4 cup molasses
  • 3 cups sifted flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Cream together the shortening and sugar.Add the spices and mix until well combined.

Sift the flour and baking soda.

Slowly add the flour mixture with the shortening.

Add the molasses. Mix. Add the egg. Mix until moldable

Roll into a ball and place in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

Roll out on a floured surface. Roll out until 1/8 of an inch thick. Using the cutters, cut the dough out and place on a prepared baking pan. Top with raisins.

Bake for 10-12 minutes but check frequently so that they don’t burn. Remove from oven and place on wired rack to cool.


Bon Appétit and Happy Holidays,

-Stephanie

Step by Step Help

Leave a Reply

