Berry Smo-rbet (smoothie/sorbet)

Screen shot 2014-11-26 at 8.24.45 PMIt may be December but that doesn’t mean that you can’t eat Sorbet. While scrolling though my instagram feed, I envy all those raw/vegan foodies from down under. Why? Because they can eat all the cold, fruity things they want. But living on the Northern Hemisphere during the cold (but not so harsh) winters won’t stop me.IMG_4536

After days of dreaming about summer, I decided to make my dream a reality. But for some odd, unknown reason, it just happened to be the coldest day of the week and the day that it started snowing. I tried to reason myself on not making it. But there weren’t enough reasons to stop me. Hey, life’s too short to just think about things; you gotta take action at some point.IMG_4538

I’m not quite sure when the attraction came from yet during my 3 week cleanse, I started to fall in love with the idea of eating vegan/raw/all organic. Sadly, all the people who are vegan or eat raw live in Australia where it just so happens to be summer. So all of them post yummy vegan “ice cream” recipes and with my sweet tooth, I just couldn’t resist but try my own ice cream.IMG_4539

Maybe it was the fact that I didn’t make Ice Cream this summer. Maybe it’s the fact that it is summer in Australia. Maybe it’s the fact that the fresh snow inspired me to have something frosty and cold. Well, I don’t know why I felt obliged to make this Ice cream but while making it, I realized there’s no cream so why is it ice cream? Take away cream and then this is “ice”. But it’s not just flavored Ice.IMG_4540

After a day of contemplating the name, I came to the conclusion that I made Sorbet. It was an iced fruit puree. The reason why I didn’t want to name it Sorbet was that I have a tendency to connect Sorbet with a sugary dessert. Yet I knew it couldn’t be categorized as Ice Cream, Sherbet or Gelato. IMG_4575

Any who, I’ll stop ranting now so you can get goin’ with this Berry Sorbet…. Or should I call it, the Brrrrrry Sorbet. I know, I know that joke was so lame but I just HAD to tell it. So just carry on with the recipe.


Berry Smo-rbet

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2-2 frozen bananas
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries
  • 1/2-1/4 cup almond milk
  • Optional: Toppings (granola, coconut whipped cream, etc.)

Directions:

In a blender/food processor (high-speed), mix the banana and berries until they become pulverized.

Add the almond milk and mix again until it becomes a smooth mixture.

Serve immediately in a bowl, as sorbet, or in a glass, like a smoothie. If you want to keep it in the freezer for a longer period of time, blend again before serving.

Top with you toppings of choice.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Berry Smo-rbet (smoothie/sorbet)

Leave a Reply

