Spiced Cashew Cream

Screen shot 2014-11-25 at 10.39.01 PMLately, if you ask what I’ve been up to, my answer would probably be, “I’ve had lots of homework lately and been studying for tests.” With little time to spear, I try to fix myself snacks that would last for a couple of days and would be easy to prepare.2014-11-10 04.33.46

After days of eating the same old snack consisting of either apples or bananas topped with almond butter, I knew I had to switch up the menu. Thus, I present to you a new kind of nut cream. So push aside those jars of almond butter and peanut butter because there’s a new kind of cream in town.

2014-11-10 05.00.50

While on my cleanse, which I ended a couple of days ago, I saw the recipe on Martha Stewart for a Spiced Cashew Cream but the link to the recipe had been removed. Instead of looking for new recipes, I didn’t give up my search for this one. Eventually, I found the recipe and made the cream that would change my afternoon rituals.

2014-11-10 05.01.00Cashew Cream is über simple to make and is very versatile as a dip. You can serve it along side apples, pears, bananas or serve it as a spread on top of some bread. In this recipe, I add cinnamon and honey for some flavor. In some recipes, which will soon be posted, it will call for plain cashew cream. Plain Cashew Cream is made the same way but it doesn’t have any honey or cinnamon. So, when you’re making the plain version, just soak the nuts and them blend them in your blender or food processor.

2014-11-10 05.04.33


Spiced Cashew Cream

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of honey
  • pinch of salt
  • Fruit of your choice

Directions:

Place the raw cashews in a bowl with the hot water. Let it soak for 30min-8 hours. Drain half of the remaining water.

In a blender or food processor, blend the remaining half of water and cashews. This is the Plain Cashew Cream.

Once a paste is created, add the cinnamon, honey and salt.

Serve along side fruit. It can be stored in the fridge for 5 days in an airtight container.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

 

Leave a Reply

