Date/ Cherry Granola Bars

IMG_4240

If you follow me of instagram, which you should (@internationalpalate), you would know that since November 2nd, I’ve been on the Whole Living 3 week Cleanse. Basically my plate had to be restricted to certain foods but this isn’t a diet; that’s why it’s called it cleanse. It’s to clean your body from “toxins” that are in your body.

IMG_4229

I will admit that I was hesitant at first because I love to eat…but mainly snack. The snack section sadly was limited and a majority of them seemed to be served cold. But with the cold weather, all I want to eat is calorific warm food and sorry but hummus and carrots doesn’t seem to be that warm. Luckily, I was saved by these granola bars.
IMG_4231

These granola bars are super simple to make and super scrumptious to eat. Most of the ingredients I already had from this week. Maybe you are on the same cleanse or you were looking at it before. Maybe you just want healthy granola bars. These will please you by every standard.

IMG_4236

Cleanse/detox wise, I would recommend this one to ANYONE who wants to reboot their internal system! Ever since I came back from France, I’ve wanted to do this in order to relieve a heaviness in my tummy. My mom has been doing this cleanse for the past 2 years now and always boasts about how great she feels so I thought I might as well try it. 2-3 months after my return (I know, I procrastinated big time), I was ready to take on this challenge to myself. Luckily, we don’t eat much meat and we already eat lots of vegetables/fruits and legumes.

IMG_4239

You can adapt this cleanse to your needs. Since I’m very active and still growing, I need food that will fuel me. Thus, for the first couple of days, I started with the week 1 menu. After 3 days, I jumped to week 2 for the fuel from grains. That’s where these bars came into play.


Date/Cherry Granola Bars

  • Servings: 5
  • Time: 45mins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup smooth natural almond butter (at room temperature)
  • 4 Tbsp ground flaxmeal
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 3 Tbsp orange juice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • Coconut or extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 cups gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened dried dates
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp coarse salt

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Brush an 8-by-8-inch pan with oil and line with parchment paper.

In an electric mixer, combine almond butter, flaxmeal, applesauce, honey, orange juice, and vanilla . Add each dry ingredient (Oats, cherries, dates, cinnamon, and salt) one at a time. Mix to combine. Press mixture evenly into pan with your fingers and bake on middle rack until golden brown and firm, 30 minutes.

Let cool completely, then remove from pan and cut into 9 squares.


Bon Appétit

-Stephanie

Adapted from: http://www.wholeliving.com/216607/cherry-date-oat-bars 

Leave a Reply

