Greek Abundance Bowl

So let’s face it, Summertime is a time for salads. And salads come in all different flavors, color and textures. As a big fan of salads, I try to switch up each salad I have because there are millions…if not BILLIONS of different ways you can make one. For me, I prefer to eat a salad with lots of different things rather than a salad with a onions, croutons and dressing. My love started with the typical Chicken Ceasar Salad. Then, my love for the leafy greens grew as I learned about SweetGreen. Yet my mom never enjoyed eating there as much as I did for one reason:the cost! That’s when we started making more salads at home and experimenting with them.
IMG_3183

While on vacation, I devoured many specialities of France, including a long list of cheese and other rich, creamy and heavy foods. As I looked up recipes to try, I kept stumbling along bowls of baked oatmeal and bowls of salad that were filled with oh so many yummy treats. So as I got home, I was thrilled to be able to see the garden growing and a fridge packed with veggies. Originally, I planned on making pita-pockets for everyone yet I couldn’t find enough pita. So with the idea of abundance bowls and greek pita-pockets, I came up with my own Greek Inspired Abundance Bowl.IMG_3187


Greek Abundance Bowl

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients: 

  • 1-2 cups Salad, (Washed, Chopped)
  • 1 Small Carrot, (Peeled,Washed, Chopped)
  • 1/4 cup Cucumber, (Peeled, Washed, Chopped)
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, (Washed, Halved)
  • 1/8 cup Dikon Radishes, (Washed, Chopped)
  • 1/8 cup Red Onion, (Washed, Chopped)
  • 1/2 cup Crumbled Feta Cheese

Ingredients for Hummus Dressing: serves about 4

  • 1/2 Cup Sabra’s Hummus, I used the Roasted Pine Nut type
  • 2 tablespoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

In a bowl, place the salad and top with topping and Hummus Dressing.

Directions for Hummus Dressing:

In a small bowl, mix together Hummus, lemon juice and water. Add salt and pepper to your desire.


Bon Appétit,

-Stephanie

 

2 thoughts on “Greek Abundance Bowl

  1. Pingback: Tip of the Month: August 2016 | International Palate

  2. Pingback: Hummus | International Palate

Leave a Reply

