The Zucchini Bread Recipe

IMG_2422I love bread. And I love Zucchini. Thus, I love Zucchini Bread. Back in elementary school, my school had a garden that grew all sorts of vegetables. With the food that grew,teachers would teach the younger students about nutrition and give out recipes. For most children, anything that was a vegetable or that was green, they would not eat. But those teachers knew that their students liked sweets, so they taught us how to make zucchini bread.

When my Grandma’s brother came over last week with two ginormous Zucchini’s in tow, I search the web for recipes to try with Zucchini. As Zucchini bread popped up on the screen, many happy memories came back as well as my love for Zucchini Bread.

Remembering that this blog is based off the idea of Healthy Food for a Healthy Soul, we recreate recipes to be healthier and with whats available. I combined many recipes and added my own little flair. As I told my grandma that I was creating my own recipe, she told me, “It better be good because I don’t want you to waste any ingredients.”When I told my mom what I was up to, she said, “Refer to a recipe because that’s an easy one to get wrong.” Yet I also remembered what my uncle told me a couple days ago, “Sample a few different things and see what works and tastes better.”

IMG_2407

In the end, I created The Zucchini Bread. This bread is nice and moist. Major plus: It doesn’t dry out after being stored for a couple of days. Try it out and see what you think of it.


Zucchini Bread

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 1hr 10mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Sunflower Oil
  • 6 tablespoon butter
  • 200g Zucchini, shredded
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 +1/4 cup Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopper
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. Prepare a long, rectangular pan by either oiling it or using parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix together the oil, butter, zucchini and eggs. In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and cinnamon. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture to the zucchini mixture. Once well combined, add the oats and walnuts.

In the prepared pan, add the zucchini mixture. Place into the oven for 35-40 minutes, until top is golden brown. When cooked, take out of the oven yet let it sit in the pan for 10-15 minutes to hold form. Carefully remove from the pan and place on a drying rack. Slice as you serve, recommended serving warm.


Bon Appétit
-Stephanie
Leave a Reply

